Happy #BookBday (8/5/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

DRIVING WITH THE TOP DOWN by Beth Harbison
In New York Times bestseller Harbison’s latest novel, two women set out on an antiquing road trip and get more than they bargained for when they pick up a third, stranded woman. “…it’s an enjoyable ride. Readers will want to pack this road-trip book in their beach bags.” — Booklist

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that has two starred reviews and is an August Indie Next pick! “This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE KILLS by Richard House
We raved about this super-sized summer thriller longlisted for the Man Booker prize, which is actually four-books-in-one, and now your patrons will, too. “Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel…THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers. They’ll be rewarded, even if the center of this dazzlingly large picture is elusive.” — Booklist, starred review

THE BIRTH OF KOREAN COOL: How One Nation Is Conquering the World Through Pop Culture by Euny Hong
With humor and a young, hip voice, Journalist Hong shows how South Korea vaulted itself into the twenty-first century, becoming a global leader in business, technology, education, and pop culture. “…this is not a scholarly treatment but an insightful, illuminating, and irreverent overview of how Korea became cool.” — Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.