Home » Books for Teens » Day’s YA – HIS HIDEOUS HEART

Day’s YA – HIS HIDEOUS HEART

Got the mid-summer reading doldrums? EXCELLENT. Allow me to introduce you to thirteen dark and creepy tales guaranteed to pull you out of that funk…

HIS HIDEOUS HEART ed. by Dahlia Adler
9781250302779
Available September 10, 2019 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

HIS HIDEOUS HEART is a collection of Edgar Allen Poe’s eeriest tales, reimagined by your favorite Young Adult authors, including Tiffany D. Jackson, Caleb Roehrig, Rin Chupeco, Kendare Blake, and Tessa Gratton, among others.

My favorite stories are…

Tiffany D. Jackson’s “It’s Carnival!” (“The Cask of Amontillado”), in which Cindy seeks revenge on Darrell (after enduring years of harassment) during Brooklyn’s West Indian Day Carnival.

Lamar Giles’ “The Oval Filter” (“The Oval Portrait”) is the unsettling story of Tariq’s dead ex-girlfriend who is haunting his phone while also leading him to her killer.

amanda lovelace’s “The Raven (Remix)” is an enchanting blackout poetry version of Poe’s THE RAVEN, in which large portions of the original text are blacked out to reveal lovelace’s poem underneath.

Stephanie Kuehn’s “Happy Days, Sweetheart” (“The Tell-Tale Heart”), my favorite, is the brutal story of a girl who would do anything to be the best . . . but will her guilt be her downfall?

HIS HIDEOUS HEART is a thrilling compilation of contemporary and perhaps even darker interpretations of Edgar Allen Poe’s original stories. The updated stories are accessible and perfect entry-points to the source material (which is also included in the book). Relevant issues and diverse characters are suffused throughout, making HIS HIDEOUS HEART perfect for fans of Kelly Link’s PRETTY MONSTERS and Amerie’s BECAUSE YOU LOVE TO HATE ME.

HIS HIDEOUS HEART has already received TWO STARRED REVIEWS, with Kirkus Reviews saying it best, “Poe’s ghost happily haunts this fresh, delightfully dark collection.”

Happy reading!
<3 Emily

Day’s YA Archives:

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston (posted 6/28/2019)

FINALE by Stephanie Garber (posted 6/14/2019)

ASK ME ANYTHING by Molly E. Lee (posted 5/17/2019)

AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio (posted 5/3/2019)

BIRTHDAY by Meredith Russo (posted 4/19/2019)

THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale (posted 4/5/2019)

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan (posted 3/22/2019)

ECHO NORTH by Joanna Ruth Meyer (posted 3/8/2019)

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn (posted 2/22/2019)

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (posted 1/18/2019)

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (posted 1/4/2019)

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (posted 12/13/2018)

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi (posted 11/30/2018)

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell (posted 11/8/2018)

IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais (posted (10/26/2018)

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam (posted 10/11/2018)

TEEN TRAILBLAZERS by Jennifer Calvert, illus. by Vesna Asanovic (posted 9/26/2018)

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin (posted 9/14/2018)

FLIGHT SEASON by Marie Marquardt (posted 8/23/2018)

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith (posted 8/9/2018)

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz (posted 7/25/2018)

SADIE by Courtney Summers (posted 7/12/2018)

MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud (posted 6/28/2018)

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber (posted 6/15/2018)

THE RAGING ONES by Krista & Becca Ritchie (posted 5/17/2018)

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell (posted 5/9/2018)

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell (posted 4/26/2018)

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. Hunter (posted 4/13/2018)

I’M NOT MISSING by Carrie Fountain (posted 3/30/2018)

CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae (posted 3/15/2018)

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust (posted 3/1/2018)

IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner (posted 2/15/2018)

BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf (posted 2/1/2018)

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (posted 1/18/2018)

HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson (posted 1/4/2018)

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough (posted 12/21/2017)

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin (posted 12/6/2017)

SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young (posted 11/28/2017)

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert (posted 11/13/2017)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php