Home » Books for Teens » Day’s YA – AGAIN, BUT BETTER

Day’s YA – AGAIN, BUT BETTER

TGIF, YA pals!

Let’s end this week with a dash of international adventure, a pinch of flirtatious eye contact, and just a little bit of magic.

AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio
9781250299253
Ages 12 to 18
Available May 7, 2019 from Wednesday Books

Shane is pre-med and in desperate need of change. A semester abroad in London studying Creative Writing is just the ticket. While across the pond, Shane makes friends easily and even falls into a flirty crush thing with Pilot, the cutey from across the hall. When Shane’s parents show up unannounced and discover that she’s been lying to them about her studies, well, y’all know what happens next . . . Shane is back in the good ‘ol U.S. of A. No more writing. No more Pilot.

Fast forward six years. Shane, while interviewing for residencies, runs into Pilot for the first time since her semester abroad. The pair then embarks on a magical journey . . . back in time to 2011. Shane and Pilot are given the do-over that we non-book characters only ever dream about. But, will they get it right this time?

AGAIN, BUT BETTER is very special to me. During the spring of 2011, I too was studying abroad in Europe. I was obsessed with Lost (just like Shane) and there were no iPhones (the horror!)! But, even for those of us not exploring Dublin and hanging out in pubs while studying abroad, this book is a gem.

Shane’s European adventures and her experiences of first love are honest and charming. The touch of magic adds just the right amount of sparkle. Christine Riccio’s debut novel is a funny and clever story of second chances and is perfect for fans of LOVE & GELATO by Jenna Evans Welch and EMERGENCY CONTACT by Mary H.K. Choi.

Happy reading!
<3 Emily

Day’s YA Archives:

BIRTHDAY by Meredith Russo (posted 4/19/2019)

THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale (posted 4/5/2019)

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan (posted 3/22/2019)

ECHO NORTH by Joanna Ruth Meyer (posted 3/8/2019)

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn (posted 2/22/2019)

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (posted 1/18/2019)

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (posted 1/4/2019)

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (posted 12/13/2018)

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi (posted 11/30/2018)

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell (posted 11/8/2018)

IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais (posted (10/26/2018)

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam (posted 10/11/2018)

TEEN TRAILBLAZERS by Jennifer Calvert, illus. by Vesna Asanovic (posted 9/26/2018)

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin (posted 9/14/2018)

FLIGHT SEASON by Marie Marquardt (posted 8/23/2018)

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith (posted 8/9/2018)

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz (posted 7/25/2018)

SADIE by Courtney Summers (posted 7/12/2018)

MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud (posted 6/28/2018)

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber (posted 6/15/2018)

THE RAGING ONES by Krista & Becca Ritchie (posted 5/17/2018)

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell (posted 5/9/2018)

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell (posted 4/26/2018)

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. Hunter (posted 4/13/2018)

I’M NOT MISSING by Carrie Fountain (posted 3/30/2018)

CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae (posted 3/15/2018)

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust (posted 3/1/2018)

IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner (posted 2/15/2018)

BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf (posted 2/1/2018)

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (posted 1/18/2018)

HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson (posted 1/4/2018)

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough (posted 12/21/2017)

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin (posted 12/6/2017)

SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young (posted 11/28/2017)

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert (posted 11/13/2017)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php