Home » Books for Teens » Day’s YA – IN SIGHT OF STARS



Hi everyone! 

We’re back in the office after a busy (but fantastic!) few days at ALA Midwinter. It was so great to get to meet some of you in person and chat about books! One book in particular that I’m especially excited for is this lovely novel by Gae Polisner.

IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner
Available March 13, 2018 from Wednesday Books
Ages 14 to 18

Gae Polisner has done it again! (By “it,” I mean she’s written another deeply emotional, tear-inducing, beautiful novel). IN SIGHT OF STARS tells the story of seventeen-year-old Klee (pronounced Clay), who has had a pretty terrible year. When his father dies suddenly, Klee’s world begins to crumble. Klee and his father had a very special bond–he was his friend and mentor. After his death, Klee and his mother move out of NYC and into a house in the suburbs, where Klee constantly feels out of place. Enter: Sarah Wood. When Klee meets Sarah, his life starts to steady. Sarah gives him a sense of belonging that he hasn’t felt since his dad died. He begins to feel okay again . . . until a moment of betrayal shatters his universe a second time and he ends up in a psychiatric hospital. Told in alternating timelines, the story both leads us to the main event and walks us through Klee’s recovery from it.

Polisner’s novel is nuanced and compassionate and she gracefully captures the complicated time between being a child and being an adult. Klee is a complex, but sympathetic character whose experiences are simultaneously unique and relatable. Perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow’s GIRL IN PIECES, Emery Lord’s WHEN WE COLLIDED, and Jandy Nelson’s I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN, IN SIGHT OF STARS gracefully tackles themes of mental illness, therapy, suicide, teen love, and parent-child relationships.

Happy reading!

<3 Emily

Day’s YA Archives:

BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf (posted 2/1/2018)

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (posted 1/18/2018)

HOW I RESIST by Tim Federle and Maureen Johnson (posted 1/4/2018)

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough (posted 12/21/2017)

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin (posted 12/6/2017)

SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young (posted 11/28/2017)

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert (posted 11/13/2017)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.