Home » Books for Teens » Day’s YA – THIS HEART OF MINE

Day’s YA – THIS HEART OF MINE

TGIF, YA librarians, and happy National Library Week!

In honor of how much I loooovveeee all of you and the amazing work that you do, I have a YA romance (with some mystery) to share with you.

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. Hunter
9781250131652
Available now from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

Seventeen-year-old Leah MacKenzie is heartless (this may sound familiar if you’ve read my review of BRING ME THEIR HEARTS, but I promise you this is a very different story). A virus called myocarditis destroyed Leah’s heart and now she’s connected to an artificial one that she has to carry around in a backpack. Because of her rare blood type her days are numbered as a transplant isn’t likely, and the artificial heart will only keep her alive for a few years. Until . . . a heart becomes available and Leah is suddenly looking at the possibility of living a much longer life than she ever imagined. Leah’s new heart has come from Eric, a classmate of hers who supposedly killed himself, but after the transplant, Leah starts having strange dreams that suggest something else happened, forcing her to team up with her donor’s very attractive twin brother, Matt, to find out the truth of how Eric really died.

Romance, mystery, dual-POV, organ donation . . . this book has everything you could want from a contemporary YA fiction. The young love between Leah and Matt is fun and sweet (and a little bit steamy), and even though Leah’s life has been anything but normal, she is still a very relatable teenage girl, especially when it comes to her relationship with Matt. Plus she’s a total book nerd, which made her especially relatable—at least to me…

In addition to the charming romance, the mystery surrounding Eric’s death is riveting and kept me at the edge of my seat. And the dual-POV between Leah and Matt kept things interesting and allowed me to get two very different views of Eric’s death and the repercussions of it (although, truly, this is Leah’s story, as her chapters are told in first-person perspective, while Matt’s are in third-person). THIS HEART OF MINE is the perfect book for fans of John Green and Nicola Yoon.

Happy reading!

<3 Emily

Day’s YA Archives:

I’M NOT MISSING by Carrie Fountain (posted 3/30/2018)

CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae (posted 3/15/2018)

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust (posted 3/1/2018)

IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner (posted 2/15/2018)

BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf (posted 2/1/2018)

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (posted 1/18/2018)

HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson (posted 1/4/2018)

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough (posted 12/21/2017)

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin (posted 12/6/2017)

SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young (posted 11/28/2017)

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert (posted 11/13/2017)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php