Literary Fiction Spotlight (6/22/22)

Today’s literary fiction spotlight includes the story of a friendship—and the subsequent loss of it—between two women, a murdered therapist and the writing group that gets back together to investigate the case, and a bartender at a neighborhood bar who is slowly drawn into the depths of the service industry.

GIRLS THEY WRITE SONGS ABOUT BY CARLENE BAUER

“The prose is razor-sharp… With deftness and candor, Bauer tells a moving and thoughtful story of how desire and ambition change over time and how to make sense of the messiness of carving out a path and life of one’s own. A smart and beautifully rendered portrait of two women’s lives.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

AMY AMONG THE SERIAL KILLERS BY JINCY WILLETT

“Delightfully mind-bending… a riotous, breathless, winking, strangely feel-good romp.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BARTENDER’S CURE BY WESLEY STRATON

“Compelling and informative, this sure-bet read-alike for Stephanie Danler’s SWEETBITTER looks head-on at the physical, mental, and emotional toll of working in the hospitality industry, as it blends Sam’s internal struggles with the joy she finds in mixology, in equal parts.”–Booklist

GIRLS THEY WRITE SONGS ABOUT by Carlene Bauer; 9780374282264; available now.
AMY AMONG THE SERIAL KILLERS by Jincy Willett; 9781250275141; 8/23/22.
THE BARTENDER’S CURE by Wesley Straton; 9781250809070; 6/28/22.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.