For Your Consideration: October 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite October titles for the October 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due September 1!

DEAR CHILD by Romy Hausmann

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request a NetGalley download widget.

“The multiple points of view and numerous plot twists sustain the breakneck pacing, but the book’s real power lies in the author’s insightful and sensitive portrayal of the characters involved in the tragedy. This darkly disturbing thriller definitely marks Hausmann as a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF ADDIE LARUE by V. E. Schwab

“This sweeping fantasy is as much a love story as it is a tribute to storytelling, art, and inspiration. Schwab’s diverse cast is beautifully rendered, and the view of human connection on offer is biting and bitter, yet introspective and sweet. This ambitious and hopeful work is a knockout.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Schwab returns with another epic story of love and remembrance that probes deep into history while also penetrating profound matters of the heart.”–Library Journal, starred review

TSARINA by Ellen Alpsten

“Alpsten’s debut reimagines the other Catherine—Catherine Alexeyevna, wife of Peter the Great, who took over the empire after her husband’s death in 1725 (and his torture and murder of his son, the heir apparent). The 100,000-copy first printing bespeaks in-house confidence.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

STORIES FROM SUFFRAGETTE CITY: Stories of a Fine and Proper Nuisance edited by M.J. Rose and Fiona Davis

“A landmark 1915 protest for women’s suffrage is the setting for the dozen short stories in this rousing anthology… A diverse range of vivid characters brings human faces to a historical protest march.”–Kirkus Reviews

DARK ARCHIVES: A Librarian’s Investigation into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin by Megan Rosenbloom

A fascinating, terrifying look at the rarest books—bound in human skin—and the stories of their creation. Thrilling, captivating, and macabre in all the right ways, DARK ARCHIVES encourages us to take another look at the very serious ways in which the powerful have objectified people over time—perfect for fans of Mary Roach, Lindsey Fitzharris, and the art of collecting.

THE BOOK COLLECTORS: A Band of Syrian Rebels and the Stories That Carried Them Through a War by Delphine Minoui

“An extraordinary story about the passion for books in war-torn Syria… It’s an agonizing tale, but readers will be appreciative that Minoui has brought it to light. Shelve this one next to READING LOLITA IN TEHRAN. Heartbreaking, inspiring, and beautifully told.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

RING SHOUT by P. Djèlí Clark

“This fantastical horror tale, set in early 1920s Georgia, has considerable resonance for the present-day United States… Clark’s latest is set in a visceral world, steeped in historical detail and full of engaging characters, that asks the question, ‘Who is to blame for the hate that hate made?’ Highly recommended for all readers of speculative fiction, particularly fans of Lovecraftian monsters and body horror.”–Booklist, starred review

THE NIGHTWORKERS by Brian Selfon

“Selfon’s ambitious, character-driven debut tells the interconnected stories of ‘a perfectly wonderful, perfectly Brooklyn family of misfits’…. Selfon fully fleshes out the major characters’ backstories, dreams, and disappointments, and even the minor characters get their moment in the sun. Superior prose is a plus (‘The rooms smell of burnt coffee and overtime’). Fans of literary crime fiction will be enthralled.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.