For Your Consideration: July 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July titles for the July 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due May 1!

THE SHADOWS by Alex North

“The complex plot shifts smoothly between past and present with numerous unexpected twists. An overwhelming atmosphere of doom and disaster hovers over the perennial darkness of the nearby woods. This heart-pounding page-turner is impossible to put down.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

OUTSIDER: A Kate Burkholder Novel by Linda Castillo

“Amid all the mayhem, Castillo presents a loving, realistic portrait of Amish life. Readers will hope Kate has a long career.”–Publishers Weekly

UNCONQUERABLE SUN by Kate Elliott

“The upshot is a maelstrom of palace intrigue, interstellar back-stabbing, devious plots, treachery, blistering action, ferocious confrontations—and a heroine for the ages, tough, resourceful, loyal, intelligent, honorable, courageous, and utterly indomitable. Enthralling, edge-of-your-seat stuff hurtling along at warp speed. Grab!”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE SAFE PLACE by Anna Downes

“A prize finalist in Australia, Downes brings us disappointed thespian Emily Proudman, who thinks she’s found THE SAFE PLACE she needs when she agrees to become housekeeper/nanny at the French estate of the Dennys—but her employers’ dark secrets will out.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

A SWEET MESS by Jayci Lee

“Lee’s (TEMPORARY WIFE TEMPTATION) latest is perfect for anyone who enjoyed Amy E. Reichert’s THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE. Readers will get lost in Aubrey’s sugary creations while rooting for the characters to find their happily ever after.”–Library Journal

WHAT YOU WISH FOR by Katherine Center

“A spirited librarian attempts to save her school from a dour new principal, opening herself up to love in the process… The story’s message, that people should choose joy even (and especially) in difficult and painful times, seems tailor-made for this moment. A timely, uplifting read about finding joy in the midst of tragedy, filled with quirky characters and comforting warmth.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

HIS & HERS by Alice Feeney

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with a “HIS & HERS” subject line to request a NetGalley download widget.

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author Alice Feeney has written her breakout novel, a dark and twisted tale about a BBC News presenter who finds herself at the center of the story. There are two sides to every story: yours and mine, ours and theirs…which means someone is always lying.

CROSSINGS by Alex Landragin

“Comprising three different narratives that can be read either sequentially or by following a different pathway, Landragin’s CROSSINGS blends rumors of a ghost story by Baudelaire, a noir fantasy whose protagonist suggests Walter Benjamin, and the fantasies of a queen whose life spans seven generations. (A former author of Lonely Planet travel guides, Australian grant winner Landragin just can’t settle down to one place.)”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE NEMESIS MANIFESTO by Eric Van Lustbader

“Credible action and often lyrical prose support the complex, intelligent plot. A series of twists and an extended fight sequence at the end will leave readers amazed and pleasantly exhausted. Lustbader is at the top of his game.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

PEW by Catherine Lacey

2 starred reviews!

“Lacey’s talent shines in this masterful work, her best yet.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Darkly playful; a warning without a moral.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

DEAL WITH THE DEVIL: A Mercenary Librarians Novel by Kit Rocha

“The danger ratchets up alongside their attraction, and paranormal romance writing duo Rocha throws twist after twist at the teams while building their camaraderie, which would be cruel if it wasn’t so fun to read. Compelling characters, white-knuckle action, and deceptively smooth worldbuilding make this first Mercenary Librarians book a satisfying and cinematic escape.”–Booklist, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.