Home » Books for Teens » Day’s YA – THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK

Day’s YA – THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK

Happy Friday, YA librarians!

Ready for the Norse Viking book of your dreams?

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK by Adrienne Young
9781250168481
Available September 3, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Adrienne Young’s debut and 2019 BFYA pick, SKY IN THE DEEP, was among my favorite 2018 reads. I know I’m not allowed to have favorites…but COME ON. It was AMAZING! But now it’s 2019… Enter: Young’s latest epic adventure, THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK.

This standalone companion novel stars Tova, a Truthtongue (she can see the future) who washed up on the shores of the Svell clan as a child, and Halvard (remember the young boy in SKY IN THE DEEP?), who is about to become the opposing clan’s leader.

As the chapters alternate between Tova and Halvard, the conflict between their clans escalates. And although the Svell rely on Tova’s ability to see the future, her visions are not always well-received and she is blamed for their misfortune. As the battle rages, Tova must decide if she is indeed a Svell, or if she will finally find her true home elsewhere.

Adrienne Young writes badass warrior women to perfection. First, we had Eelyn in SKY IN THE DEEP, and now we have Tova. She might be a bit lost (who isn’t?), but she’s fierce. I loved alternating between clever Tova and good-hearted Halvard. And, as always, Young’s ability to portray the world in a beautiful and brutal way is unmatched. This stunning epic is perfect for fans of S. Jae-Jones’ SHADOWSONG duology and Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL trilogy.

Happy reading!
<3 Emily

Day’s YA Archives:

THE LAST HOPE by Krista and Becca Ritchie (posted 8/2/2019)

HIS HIDEOUS HEART ed. by Dahlia Adler (posted 7/12/2019)

RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston (posted 6/28/2019)

FINALE by Stephanie Garber (posted 6/14/2019)

ASK ME ANYTHING by Molly E. Lee (posted 5/17/2019)

AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio (posted 5/3/2019)

BIRTHDAY by Meredith Russo (posted 4/19/2019)

THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale (posted 4/5/2019)

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan (posted 3/22/2019)

ECHO NORTH by Joanna Ruth Meyer (posted 3/8/2019)

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn (posted 2/22/2019)

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (posted 1/18/2019)

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (posted 1/4/2019)

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (posted 12/13/2018)

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi (posted 11/30/2018)

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell (posted 11/8/2018)

IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais (posted (10/26/2018)

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam (posted 10/11/2018)

TEEN TRAILBLAZERS by Jennifer Calvert, illus. by Vesna Asanovic (posted 9/26/2018)

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin (posted 9/14/2018)

FLIGHT SEASON by Marie Marquardt (posted 8/23/2018)

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith (posted 8/9/2018)

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz (posted 7/25/2018)

SADIE by Courtney Summers (posted 7/12/2018)

MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud (posted 6/28/2018)

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber (posted 6/15/2018)

THE RAGING ONES by Krista & Becca Ritchie (posted 5/17/2018)

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell (posted 5/9/2018)

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell (posted 4/26/2018)

THIS HEART OF MINE by C.C. Hunter (posted 4/13/2018)

I’M NOT MISSING by Carrie Fountain (posted 3/30/2018)

CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae (posted 3/15/2018)

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust (posted 3/1/2018)

IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner (posted 2/15/2018)

BRING ME THEIR HEARTS by Sara Wolf (posted 2/1/2018)

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (posted 1/18/2018)

HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson (posted 1/4/2018)

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough (posted 12/21/2017)

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin (posted 12/6/2017)

SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young (posted 11/28/2017)

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert (posted 11/13/2017)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php