Day’s YA: Black YA Authors

This edition of Day’s YA highlights YA and YA-OK books by Black authors Note: This list is not exhaustive, but is meant to be a jumping off point. Please support these (and all) Black authors in any way you can, now and always. YA: ALL BOYS AREN’T BLUE by George M Johnson BLACK GIRL UNLIMITED […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree! MOONBOUND: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by Jonathan Fetter-VormA rich, full-color graphic exploration of our journey to the moon and a celebration of scientific achievement. “Dense with historical, political, and scientific information but a fascinating exploration for interested older teens” —Booklist, YA Interest THE SOL MAJESTIC by […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/26/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/26/19)

Eating & branding & dressing & fast fooding & playing baseball–what more do you need in a nonfiction round-up?! HANGRY: 5 Simple Steps to Balance Your Hormones and Restore Your Joy (Including a Customizable Paleo/Mediterranean Plan!) by Sarah Fragoso and Brooke Kalanick, ND, MS Go from feeling stressed out and frustrated––and really freaking tired!––to healthy, […]

Read More…

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019! Staff PicksTHE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers FictionIN WEST MILLS by […]

Read More…

What to Wear with Tanisha C. Ford (DRESSED IN DREAMS)

What to Wear with Tanisha C. Ford (DRESSED IN DREAMS)

Tanisha C. Ford’s DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion takes you on a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet. Because we love a good fashion/literary crossover, we asked Tanisha to share her favorite fashion-related books and the outfit each one inspired her to wear! […]

Read More…

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color […]

Read More…

css.php