Home » LibraryReads » For Your Consideration: February 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: February 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the February 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due December 20Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
Two starred reviews! From the author of the worldwide phenomenon, THE NIGHTINGALE, comes a story of a family in crisis and a young girl struggling to survive at the edge of the world, in America’s last true frontier: Alaska. “Hannah’s follow-up to her series of blockbuster bestsellers will thrill her fans with its combination of Greek tragedy, Romeo and Juliet-like coming-of-age story, and domestic potboiler. A tour de force.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


FORCE OF NATURE
by Jane Harper

When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE HUSH
by John Hart

New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play.  “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE CHATEAU
by Paul Goldberg

The acclaimed author of THE YID takes us behind the scenes of a Florida condo board election, delivering a wild spin on Miami Beach, petty crime, Jewish identity, and life in Trump’s America. “A master of dark, cutting humor, restless and allusive… Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction’s liveliest new voices, walking in the shoes of such deadpan provocateurs as Mordecai Richler and Stanley Elkin.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


GIRL UNKNOWN
by Karen Perry

When a young woman appears in David Connolly’s university office and says, “I think you might be my father,” the Connollys may have a chance to expand their family and how much they can love—or they may be making themselves vulnerable to menace. “Writing duo Karen Gillece and Paul Perry’s second novel (after THE INNOCENT SLEEP, 2014), is must-read literary suspense, with dueling character perspectives and sly twists forming a gut-wrenching exploration of trust, manipulation, and obsession.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
by Brittney Cooper

With searing honesty, intimacy, and humor in the Black feminist tradition of Audre Lorde, America’s leading young black feminist reminds us that anger is a powerful source of energy that can give the strength to keep on fighting. “An ambitious, electrifying memoir. Recommended for readers seeking contemporary social commentary that’s unrelenting yet humorous.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


A DANGEROUS CROSSING
by Ausma Zehanat Khan

“A British-born Canadian now living in Colorado, trained in international human rights law and formerly editor in chief of Muslim Girl magazine, Khan confronts the Syrian refugee crisis directly in the next in her well-received series starring Muslim detective Esa Khattak. Old friend Audrey Clare has gone missing while working in Greece to speed the immigration of Syrian refugees to Canada, and when Esa and partner Sgt. Rachel Getty investigate, they discover that Audrey has been blamed for the murder of a French Interpol agent and a refugee from Aleppo.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “A Dangerous Crossing.”*

EAT THE APPLE by Matt Young
Three starred reviews! For readers of Tim O’Brien’s THE THINGS THEY CARRIED, Phil Klay’s REDEPLOYMENT, and Michael Pitre’s FIVES AND TWENTY-FIVES, comes a daring, twisted, and darkly hilarious memoir of American youth, masculinity, and the consequences of war on the psyche of a young man. “[Young] performs a certain amount of literary alchemy, using style and the space between memory and fiction to transform his raw experiences into self-lacerating works of art… A real war story told in fragments by a gifted young writer trying to come to grips with his experiences.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE WOMAN IN THE WATER
by Charles Finch

In Charles Lenox’s very first case in 1850, a trunk containing the body of a young woman is found floating in the Thames River. “With its splendidly drawn characters and brisk, supple prose, this can be either an inviting introduction to readers new to Finch’s accomplished series or a winning addition to the canon for established fans.” — Booklist, starred review

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Woman in the Water” and your mailing address.*

DEAD PEOPLE SUCK: A Guide for Survivors of the Newly Departed by Laurie Kilmartin
An honest, irreverent, and laugh-out-loud guide to grief from a bestselling author/stand-up comic/Emmy-nominated writer for CONAN.

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Dead People Suck” and your mailing address.*

There are even more February 2018 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Advance reading material only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. who actively participate in LibraryReads.

2 Responses to For Your Consideration: February 2018 LibraryReads Titles

  1. Amy says:

    Awesome list! I’m really looking forward to reading quite a few & really wish I was auto approved to download copies via Edelweiss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php