Author Spotlight: Allison Montclair (6/16/22)

Allison Montclair‘s Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery Series introduced readers to two powerful women in their endeavor to create The Right Sort Marriage Bureau, a matchmaking service for Londoners, in the wake of World War II.

In the series’ newest installment, we follow Iris Sparks and Gwendolyn Bainbridge once again as Iris suddenly finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation, and Gwendolyn fights to reclaim her life after the loss of her husband.

THE UNKEPT WOMAN: A SPARKS & BAINBRIDGE MYSTERY

“The friendship of Gwen Bainbridge and Iris Sparks, the ‘intelligent and resourceful’ owners of the Right Sort Marriage Bureau, is tested in Montclair’s exemplary fourth mystery set in post-WWII London… Montclair’s capable, funny, and fully developed leads set a gold standard for the amateur sleuth subgenre. Dorothy Sayers’s fans will hope this series has a long run.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

And don’t miss Allison Montclair‘s previous books:

A ROGUE’S COMPANY: A SPARKS & BAINBRIDGE MYSTERY

“Montclair’s feisty leads continue to develop as psychologically plausible characters. Phryne Fisher devotees will clamor for more.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

A ROYAL AFFAIR: A SPARKS & BAINBRIDGE MYSTERY

“Montclair successfully combines the insightful characterizations of Jacqueline Winspear with the witty banter of Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles. Fans of the British royal family will have fun.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN: A SPARKS & BAINBRIDGE MYSTERY

2 starred reviews!

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE UNKEPT WOMAN: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery by Allison Montclair; 9781250750341; 7/26/22.
A ROGUE’S COMPANY: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery by Allison Montclair; 9781250848154; available now.
A ROYAL AFFAIR: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery by Allison Montclair; 9781250797094; available now.
THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery by Allison Montclair; 9781250621412; available now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.