Author Spotlight: Ragnar Jónasson (6/17/20)

The year is 1987. Enter, an isolated farmhouse, a snowstorm, a liar, a killer, and an unexpected guest. Welcome to the final installment in the nail-biting, critically-acclaimed Hidden Iceland crime fiction series from today’s featured author, Ragnar Jónasson!

THE MIST

3 starred reviews!

“Jónasson weaves his suspenseful tales together with remorseless logic up to a climax more nightmarish than the buildup.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Isolation and despair undo the characters in Jónasson’s exceptional third and final novel featuring Reykjavík Det. Insp. Hulda Hermannsdóttir (after 2019’s THE ISLAND).”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“No one is who they seem to be in this fast-paced, character-rich thriller about murder and isolation during the brutal Icelandic winter. A series novel that works as a stand-alone, it will appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson, Deborah Crombie, and Michelle Sacks.”–Library Journal, starred review

Check out the previous books in the series:

THE ISLAND

“Jónasson’s masterly sequel to 2018’s THE DARKNESS opens with a cryptic prologue set in a town just south of Reykjavík in 1988…Jónasson delivers a mind-bending look into human darkness that earns its twists.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE DARKNESS

2 starred reviews!

“Jónasson pulls no punches as this grim tale builds to its stunning conclusion, one of the more remarkable in recent crime fiction. Fans of uncompromising plotting will be satisfied.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A complex, fascinating mix of Icelandic community and alienation, atmospheric tension, and timely issues (immigrant exploitation and vigilante justice), Jónasson’s latest series is another must-read for crime fans who follow the work of Arnaldur Indridason and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir.”–Booklist, starred review

THE MIST by Ragnar Jónasson; 9781250768117; available 6/23/20.
THE ISLAND by Ragnar Jónasson; 9781250193377; available now.
THE DARKNESS by Ragnar Jónasson; 9781250231239; available now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.