Day’s YA: ANNA K

Happy Valentine’s Day, YA folks!

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I’m sharing with you a classic love story with a modern twist.

ANNA K: A Love Story by Jenny Lee
9781250236432
Available March 3, 2020 from Flatiron Books
Ages 14 to 18
Available to download as an e-galley

In an elite world of Hot Lists, raucous parties, and designer clothes, Anna K. is at the tip-top of society. Set in the wealthiest neighborhoods of Greenwich, Connecticut and Manhattan, Anna and her friends have it all, and then some. But Anna’s perfect world is thrown into chaos at the arrival of Alexi Vronsky. He is notorious among Anna’s friends for being a dangerous playboy, and he’s also the complete opposite of Anna’s long-time boyfriend, the Golden Boy of Greenwich, but that doesn’t stop Anna from instantly falling for Alexi. Meanwhile, Anna’s peers are dealing with their own array of scandalous problems, be it sex, drugs, or rock and roll (..er..Coachella).

I absolutely devoured every page of ANNA K. The plot is fast-paced and enthralling and the large cast of characters is diverse. In addition to glamorous lifestyles and captivating melodrama, this modernization of Leo Tolstoy’s classic tale examines racism, sexism, mental health, and addiction in a way that is thoughtful and engaging. Even readers who have not previously read ANNA KARENINA (such as myself) will be able to fully appreciate and enjoy Lee’s updated version. Her writing is thoroughly addicting and this story of first love and heartbreak is sure to appeal to fans of Gossip Girl, CRAZY RICH ASIANS, and Jenny Han. And if you think you know how ANNA K ends based on the ending of ANNA KARENINA, you’re in for a twist.

Happy reading!
<3 Emily

You can find all of our 2020 Books for Teens here and the Day’s YA archives here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.