Home » Debuts » Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim

Two starred reviews!
A Library Journal Winter/Spring 19 Best Debut!
“Intricate plotting and courtroom theatrics, combined with moving insight into parenting special needs children and the psychology of immigrants, make this book both a learning experience and a page-turner. Should be huge.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“With touches of mystery, legal thriller, and character-driven storytelling, where nothing is ever quite as it seems, Kim’s promising debut will certainly have readers looking forward to her next offering.”–Library Journal, starred review

WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
Three starred reviews!
“[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”–Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php