Home » Books for Teens » Teen Talk Tuesday (8/16/16 Edition)

Teen Talk Tuesday (8/16/16 Edition)

Lovely YA Librarians, we can’t wait to hear what you’ve been reading later today during Early Word YA Galley Chat (starts at 4pm EST, hashtag: #ewgcya), but first let us tell you about this month’s new teen and YA-OK adult titles:

THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
An August 2016 Indie Next pick, a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, and one of Library Journal‘s “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” selections! A hilarious and powerful first novel about a disabled boy who finds love and hope in a Russian hospital. “An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE TREES by Ali Shaw
A terrifying and wildly imaginative novel that follows four survivors on a journey after the natural–and the supernatural–has reclaimed and transformed their world. “Shaw has written an exciting apocalyptic novel that blends in elements of magic realism. Gripping and occasionally brutal, this survival story highlights both the best and worst in humanity.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE GREATEST OF MARLYS by Lynda Barry
“Barry is one of American literature’s great chroniclers of childhood” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), and her most famous character from the long-running and landmark comic strip Ernie Pook’s Comeek, eight-year-old Marlys Mullen, shines in all her freckled and pig-tailed groovy glory in her very own collection of strips. “Beyond nostalgia, her deceptively simple art, in all its spareness, breaks your heart and makes you laugh, often at the same time.”
Booklist, starred review

ANNE OF GREEN BAGELS by Jon Buller & Susan Schade
On her first day at her new school, Anne is saddled with the nickname Anne of Green Bagels, thanks to the health-food sandwich her grandmother has made her for lunch. Can things get any worse? Find out in this middle grade hybrid comic/chapter book perfect for fans of Judy Blume. “…breezy entertainment with a suitably happy ending.” — Publishers Weekly

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLER: SECRETS: THE LOST GIRL & CAN YOU KEEP A SECRET by R.L. Stine
Now in one volume, master of horror R.L. Stine delivers two bone-chilling stories of teens in danger in the small town of Shadyside, where danger and violence looms on every darkened street corner.

Also, did you see those cute WAR DOGS?! #woof

**ICYMI, we announced our Books for Teens 2017 titles (woohoo)! Our super-cool “Books for Teens Twenty-SixTEEN” double-sided coloring poster is still available for download, or you can request a complimentary copy by e-mailing library@macmillanusa.com with your full name and mailing address.**

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php