Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads Spotlight: THE SWITCH

In today’s Genre For All/Forthcoming #FridayReads mashup, I am thrilled to share my feel-good pick of the year, Beth O’Leary’s THE SWITCH.

Last year, Beth O’Leary burst onto the scene with her debut THE FLATSHARE, which was just. So. Friggin’. Good! It earned multiple starred reviews, was RUSA’s Romance Reading List winner, a LibraryReads pick and 2019 Voter Favorite, and a #libfaves19 favorite.

O’Leary’s follow-up, THE SWITCH, stars grandmother, Eileen, and granddaughter, Leena, who “switch lives” after Leena suffers a panic attack. Eileen moves into Leena’s London apartment and takes on city life, anonymous neighbors, and a vibrant online dating scene. Meanwhile, Leena adjusts to sleepy village life, a grouchy neighbor, and an elderly town council. Hijinks ensue as the two grapple with their new surroundings, improve the communities around them in unexpected ways, and grow as people…

THE SWITCH is charming, heartwarming, and delightfully British. O’Leary deftly explores grief, seizing the moment, finding oneself, and trying new things. And of course, there might be a bit of romance for each of our heroines…

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Katherine Center, THE ROSIE PROJECT, or anyone who just wants to smile and feel like there’s hope in the world regardless of your stage in life should dive in.

THE SWITCH is available to request on NetGalley here! If you’d like to read a print ARC, email me at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com.

–Amanda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.