Day’s YA – JANE ANONYMOUS

Happy Friday, YA pals!

My last Day’s YA of 2019 is a dark thriller that will keep you awake until 2020.

JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz
9781250303707
Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13-18
Available to download as an e-galley on Edelweiss

“Jane” (we don’t know her real name) was kidnapped the summer before her senior year of high school. After seven harrowing months in captivity, Jane escapes and returns to her small, sleepy New England town. In order to heal, Jane writes a book (JANE ANONYMOUS) chronicling the events of her imprisonment.

Alternating between past and present, the “THEN” chapters detail her capture, the psychological torture she endured, her relationship with fellow inmate Mason, and her eventual escape; the “NOW” chapters cover her homecoming and recovery as she learns the truth about what really happened to her during those horrifying seven months.

This haunting thriller was absolutely terrifying. Like, put the book in the freezer and step away from it for a few minutes, terrifying. It’s been months since I read it, and I’m still thinking about Jane.

JANE ANONYMOUS is a must-read for those who enjoy true crime, psychological thrillers, and suspenseful stories. Perfect for fans of SADIE, ONE OF US IS LYING, and ROOM, this compelling and tragic story will elevate your heart rate and leave you feeling both heartbroken and hopeful.

“A story about lingering trauma, loss, and the journey toward healing, this gripping crime novel could be a documentary from the Investigation Discovery channel. A must-read.” —School Library Journal

“Stolarz ups the psychological ante . . . the depth of psychological intrigue is absorbing, and the twist on Stockholm syndrome, disturbing . . . this novel is a testament to how the mind can reshape reality in order to survive.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Happy reading (and see you in the new year)!
<3 Emily

You can find all of our 2020 Books for Teens here and the Day’s YA archives here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.