Home » Reviews and Publicity » Starred Review Round-Up

Starred Review Round-Up

A historical mystery, a magical re-imagining, and an exploration of domestic violence all received 2 starred reviews!

DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN by Mariah Fredericks (author of Library Journal Best Book of the Year and Edgar Award nominee, A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE)

“With an astute amateur sleuth whose evaluation of the roles and positions of women is a crucial element, and a topical story line that emphasizes the immigrant experience and women’s lives, this title comes highly recommended“–Library Journal, starred review, Pick of the Month

Fredericks has a sharp eye for the complexities of human nature and how even good people are capable of committing terrible deeds to protect the ones they love. This is a touching portrait of early-20th-century New York in all its glory and ugliness.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

LENT by Jo Walton

“By itself, a fascinating meditation on the choices which alter lives and the course of history; in the context of Walton’s other novels, positively mind-bending.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fans of Connie Willis and The Good Place will be awed by this nuanced, loving grapple with better selves and better worlds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NO VISIBLE BRUISES: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder

“Balancing the gut-wrenching stories are hopeful explorations of resources that could prevent domestic homicides…. Penetrating and wise, and written in sometimes novelistic prose, Synder’s sobering analysis will reward readers’ attention.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Bracing and gut-wrenching, with slivers of hope throughout, this is exemplary, moving reportage on an important subject that often remains in the dark due to shame and/or fear.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php