Thriller Thursday (6/18/15 Edition)

Where else would you find detectives, reporters, and a serial killer, but in our latest #ThrillerThursday roundup?!

THE PRECIPICE by Paul Doiron
libraryreads logo squareA June 2015 LibraryReads pick! In the riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Mike Bowditch joins a desperate search for two missing hikers as Maine wildlife officials deal with a frightening rash of coyote attacks. “This is one of the finest entries in a uniformly strong series that has quietly taken its place among the very best outdoors-based crime dramas.” – Booklist (two starred reviews)

DEATH IN SALEM by Eleanor Kuhns
“Fourth in the Will Rees series, this post–Revolutionary period mystery showcases Kuhns’ talent for unusual historical detail, plot complexity, and diverse characters. [A] psychologically astute puzzle suited for fans of David Liss and James McGee.”
Booklist

DEATH IN BRITTANY by Jean-Luc Bannalec
Two starred reviews for this international bestseller, which introduces Commisaire Dupin—a witty, quintessential traditional police inspector in an idyllic French seaside village. “Bannelec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside. Readers will look forward to seeing more Dupin books from this talented author.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

WHAT DOESN’T KILL HER by Carla Norton
Two starred reviews for the riveting sequel to THE EDGE OF NORMAL, in which the heroine must confront her former tormentor who has escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane. “The pages fly by in this thrill-a-minute sequel that keeps readers guessing what will happen next and hoping for Reeve’s triumph over Flint.” — Library Journal, starred review

RUN YOU DOWN by Julia Dahl
In the next powerful novel from Dahl, investigating the murder of a young Hasidic mother might bring journalist Rebekah Roberts face-to-face with her own mother, who abandoned her as a baby. “Rebekah is maturing personally and in her profession as she faces choices between humanity and journalistic integrity and between family and a story in this compelling mystery with an explosive climax that comes uncomfortably close to home.” — Booklist

THE ASSASSINS by Gayle Lynds
Six master assassins—each a legend in the dark corners of international espionage—band together to steal a fortune from the middle of a war zone. But the mission goes tragically wrong, and they retreat into the shadows…until now. “…spy thriller lovers will enjoy Lynds’s tenth romp.” — Library Journal

DEVIL’S HARBOR by Alex Gilly
“The temptation is to dodge reviewing this splendid crime novel and just bark orders: Buy it! Recommend it! Push it on anyone who loves suspense and action served with hard-boiled style! The writing is exuberant yet controlled, the plot is twisty and devious yet easily tracked, the characters are freshly imagined.” – Booklist

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.