GFA Readalikes: Fierce Heroines Take Charge

Do you like to read about fierce heroines battling against the odds to achieve positions of power? Do you like political machinations, allies and enemies, high risk with high reward?

While Kate Elliott’s UNCONQUERABLE SUN and Ellen Alpsten’s TSARINA may sit in very different genres, both hit the bullseye for all of these things and more.

UNCONQUERABLE SUN by Kate Elliott
ISBN 9781250197245, on sale 7/7/20

Passionate world-building and historical aspects meets science fiction thrills and an ensemble cast in bestselling author Kate Elliott’s UNCONQUERABLE SUN, a gender-swapped space opera inspired by Alexander the Great. Political enemies need Princess Sun removed from her spot as heir to the empire, and to survive, the princess must rely on her wits and companions: her biggest rival, her secret lover, and a dangerous prisoner of war. Take the brilliance and cunning courage of Princess Leia—add in a dazzling futuristic setting where pop culture and propaganda are one and the same—and hold on tight.

TSARINA by Ellen Alpsten
ISBN 9781250214430, on sale 10/13/20

This debut novel is the political machinations and backstabbing of A GAME OF THRONES meets the impeccably researched historical fiction of Phillippa Gregory in a wild, seductive, and dangerous ride of historical fiction. Travel with me to early 1700s Russia. We meet Catherine, an extraordinarily beautiful and cunning woman, born into extreme poverty, who uses her ruthless ambition and shrewd intelligence to ingratiate her way into Peter the Great’s court, become his second wife, and ultimately claim the crown for herself to become Catherine the First, Empress of Russia–the first woman to rule Russia in her own right. The lies and scandals and cheating mixed with the violence and passion makes this a stay on your toes read with a courageous heroine you’ll be rooting for the entire time, all against the glittering backdrop, violence, and depravity of Imperial Russia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.