Thriller Thursday (7/10/14 Edition)

There’s nothing like reading a great thriller in the heat of summer to send chills down your spine. Check out these books for immediate heat relief:

THE DEAD WILL TELL by Linda Castillo
Recommended by People Magazine! In Castillo’s latest electrifying Kate Burkholder mystery guaranteed to “keep suspense fans glued to their books and ereaders” (Library Journal, starred review), the Amish town of Painter’s Mill is plagued by a series of murders made to look like suicides. “Castillo shows again why the phrase ‘gritty Amish mystery’ is no oxymoron.” — Booklist

GRAVE DOUBTS by Elizabeth Corley
“In this third entry in the terrific Detective Chief Inspector Andrew Fenwick mystery series, a serial rapist and killer is on the loose. Corley is an accomplished genre veteran skilled at developing full-bodied, realistic characters, but she is also a master at creating mood and generating suspense. Readers who enjoy Michael Connelly’s or Peter Robinson’s finely written police procedurals set around older men with personal and professional problems should also enjoy Corley’s series starring the beleaguered Fenwick.” — Booklist, starred review

HURRICANE FEVER by Tobias S. Buckell
When former Caribbean Intelligence operative Prudence “Roo” Jones receives an unexpected package from a murdered fellow spy, he must unravel the mystery that got his friend killed. “Buckell has written a smart and well-constructed tale that’s filled with excitement and the flavor of the Caribbean isles.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE CAT SITTER’S NINE LIVES by Blaize & John Clement
Pet-sitter and amateur sleuth Dixie Hemingway is back in this ninth installment of Blaize Clement’s beloved cozy mystery series, now written by her son John. Dixie rescues a man from a car accident, and a day later strange things start to happen—the man she rescued claims to be Dixie’s husband, a bookstore owner and his cat vanish, and a mysterious phone call from a new client lures her to a crumbling, abandoned mansion on the outskirts of town.

THE ACCIDENTAL APPRENTICE by Vikas Swarup
In New York Times bestseller Swarup’s latest thriller set in India, an ordinary salesgirl is offered a chance to become CEO of a billion dollar industry, as long as she passes seven tests from the “textbook of life.” “SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE author Swarup is a skilled storyteller who doesn’t hesitate to take on some of the most troublesome issues of his native land—corruption, caste, color, tradition—as he also captures and celebrates its sights and sounds in this fast-moving mystery.” — Booklist

EMERALDS INCLUDED by Betsy Woodman
Feathers fly and cultures clash as the Jolly Grant House prepares to welcome a special delivery from Scotland: Jana’s son, Jack, and his Hungarian bride-to-be, Katarina Esterhazy. “Most of the quirky characters featured in the first two novels make an appearance, the flavor of post-independence India is strong, and fans of the series will be delighted to see what Jana gets up to next.” — Booklist

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.