Home » Debuts » Friday Reads: Indie Next Edition

Friday Reads: Indie Next Edition

Congratulations! You made it to another weekend!
We know what we’re doing—settling in with a bowl of ice cream and two great books that also happen to be August Indie Next picks:


SMALL BLESSINGS
by Martha Woodroof

Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had.
“What could have become a sappy tale in less capable hands is a warm, caring, and thoroughly entertaining debut that reads remarkably well. NPR pro Woodroof is no novice writer, and her first novel will have readers eager for more.” — Library Journal, starred review

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that two starred reviews rank on par with John le Carré and Olen Steinhauer.
“Cumming has established himself, along with Olen Steinhauer, as one of the best of today’s old-school espionage novelists…. Superb espionage fiction in the grand tradition.” — Booklist, starred review

“This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

What are you reading today? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend and happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php