Friday Reads: Science & Medicine

Today’s #FridayReads delve into the miracles of modern medicine and the Ebola epidemic:

MERCIES IN DISGUISE: A Story of Hope, a Family’s Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them by Gina Kolata
An April 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017! In this work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, New York Times science reporter Kolata follows a family through genetic illness and one courageous daughter who decides her fate shall no longer be decided by a genetic flaw. “Kolata delivers an inspiring chronicle of a remarkable family, medical advances, and redefining destiny.” — Booklist

INFERNO: A Doctor’s Ebola Story by Steven Hatch, M.D.
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with three starred reviews! “Hatch, a physician and assistant professor of medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, rivetingly recounts his work in an Ebola treatment unit in Liberia at the height of the deadly West African outbreak in 2014–2015. Hatch’s chronicle is a compassionate, clear-eyed, and courageous account of how compassionate medical care proves a formidable force against the ravages of Ebola.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.