Happy #BookBday (6/2/15 Edition)

Tuesday brings a brand new (& belated) #BookBday for 3 debuts, a thriller featuring a female U.S. Navy helicopter pilot, and a brain surgeon’s memoir:

DO NO HARM by Henry Marsh
This gripping, brutally honest account from neurosurgeon Marsh has already received THREE starred reviews and is garnering raves from the New York Times (both the daily AND the Book Review), The Wall Street Journal, and more.

LETTERS TO THE LOST by Iona Grey
Grey’s engaging, poignant, and romantic debut treats readers to an absorbing story within a story. Her detailed narrative chronicles the lives of these intriguing characters while fluidly traveling from past to present. The author’s subtle depictions of social and moral intolerances of the past and the gentle hand of fate that guides this tale makes her novel an excellent choice for fans of Beatrice Williams, Jon Clinch, and Kristina McMorris.” — Library Journal

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
Dinerstein’s debut novel about two lives that intersect ninety-five miles above the Arctic Circle is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015. “With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE UNFORTUNATES by Sophie McManus
A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2015 Pick! “In her assured first novel, McManus dissects such headline topics as Wall Street corruption, income inequality, and the vagaries of class and power in contemporary America. To her great credit, McManus uncovers the humanity of a group that rarely receives our empathy even as she exposes the dark side of privilege and entitlement in a timely novel enriched with touches of Edith Wharton.” — Booklist

HOVER by Anne A. Wilson
Wilson’s experience as an active-duty U.S. Navy helicopter pilot brings a nuanced perspective to her thrilling debut about a female pilot who wrestles with acceptance, overcoming her fears, and a dangerous mission. “Wilson offers a must-read that merges suspense, intrigue, and romance in a dynamic setting.” — Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.