Memorial Day weekend reading

We hope you've also got a nice, long, relaxing weekend with plenty of reading time ahead of you. Here are a few books we recommend (they're also BEA giveaway galleys!):

THE KILLS by Richard House
On Sale: August 5, 2014
Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, this epic novel of crime and conspiracy told in four books begins with a man on the run and ends with a burned body, moving across continents, characters, and genres. “Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel, with a huge cast of characters, many Middle Eastern settings, and a puzzle of a time-shifting plot, THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers.” — Booklist, starred review 

THE FURIES by Natalie Haynes
On Sale: August 26, 2014
In this psychological page-turner set at a “last-chance” school for teens, a teacher hides from her own terrible tragedy by teaching the Greek classics to her troubled students.

ISLAND OF A THOUSAND MIRRORS by Nayomi Munaweera
On Sale: September 2, 2014
Winner of the Commonwealth Book Prize for Asia and longlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize! In the tradition of Michael Ondatjee’s ANIL’S GHOST and Arundhati Roy’s THE GOD OF SMALL THINGS, this literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. 

THE PLOUGHMEN by Kim Zupan
On Sale: September 30, 2014
A young sheriff and a hardened killer form an uneasy and complicated bond in this mesmerizing first novel set on the plains of Montana.

PARTY GAMES by R.L. Stine
On Sale: September 30, 2014
The first new Fear Street book in nearly 20 years! Rachel Martin has a crush on Brendan Fear and despite her friends’ warnings, she goes to Brendan’s party at his family’s estate on Fear Island. Lots of games are planned, but it’s not all fun and games when party guests start dropping dead. 

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
On Sale: October 7, 2014
The Pulitzer Prize–winning author returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on the fringes of society in fear, awe, and wonder. “This third of three novels set in the fictional plains town of Gilead, Iowa, is a masterpiece of prose in the service of the moral seriousness that distinguishes Robinson’s work.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  

FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
On Sale: October 7, 2014
From the New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning thriller writer comes a powerful standalone novel in the tradition of Steinbeck's classic EAST OF EDEN about a young man risking everything for his family. “Parker’s evident talent for building tension, plus his sharp writing and characterization, makes this departure especially promising.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert 

BETRAYED by Lisa Scottoline
On Sale: November 25, 2014
In Scottoline's latest Rosato & Associates thriller, Judy Carrier must deal with her aunt's recent breast cancer diagnosis while investigating the sudden death of her aunt's friend, Emelia Juarez, who was an undocumented worker at a local farm.

Happy reading and we hope to see you at BEA next week!