Thriller Thursday (9/19/13 Edition)

Today marks the start of Bouchercon, the world’s leading convention for crime fiction writers and their adoring fans. Our own Steve Hamilton is the Toastmaster Guest of Honor and we've got three great books nominated for Anthony Awards:

Anthony Award nominees
Best Novel
THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny
THE OTHER WOMAN by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First Novel
DON'T EVER GET OLD by Daniel Friedman

Congratulations to the nominees!

UPDATE: a HUGE congratulations to Louise Penny who won the Anthony Award for Best Novel at Bouchercon 2013, this past Saturday, 9/21.  This is Louise Penny’s 4th consecutive and 5th overall Anthony Award!

Now on to our #ThrillerThursday picks:

BLACK SKIES by Arnaldur Indridason
In Indridason’s new book his usual main character, Inspector Erlendur, is away, so his colleague Sigurdur Óli is running the show. When a favor to a friend goes wrong and a woman dies before his eyes, Óli has a murder investigation on his hands. Library Journal gave it a starred review saying, "Óli is an intricate character plodding through life and his cases. He’s an average guy, someone whom the reader can identify with, and will become a favorite. Readers who enjoy Henning Mankell and Ian Rankin will be intrigued by this character. Although this is the eighth novel (after OUTRAGE) in this series, it’s fine for newcomers to start here." 

THE IMPERSONATOR by Mary Miley
Miley won the 2012 MB/MWA First Novel Competition with her lively debut about a young vaudeville actress in 1924 who takes on the role of a lifetime when she impersonates a missing heiress. "The story is engrossing, the characters satisfyingly larger than life, and one can only hope for an encore from the smart, feisty, and talented heroine." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

SOMETHING BORROWED, SOMEONE DEAD by M.C. Beaton
New York Times bestseller M. C. Beaton’s beloved Agatha Raisin is back on the case and poking around in a small town where she doesn’t belong. This time she's looking into the death of a widow who had a nasty habit of borrowing things without returning them. "Agatha is like Miss Marple with a drinking problem, pack-a-day habit, and major man lust."Entertainment Weekly on A SPOONFUL OF POISON

What's sending shivers up your spine this week? Let us know @MacmillanLib using the hashtag #ThrillerThursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.