Home » Debuts » Sneak Peek: March 2017 Indie Next List

Sneak Peek: March 2017 Indie Next List

indie nextThe March 2017 Indie Next list includes five Macmillan titles!

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

ABANDON ME by Melissa Febos
For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and loss. “What might be mere navel-gazing for a less brilliant author is made powerfully universal here. Febos’s awakening to her full identity, even its ugliness, is a powerful and redemptive epic.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist

THE MOTHER’S PROMISE by Sally Hepworth
Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP was a January 2016 LibraryReads pick and in her new novel, a single mother reaches out to her oncology nurse and social worker to help find a stable situation for her daughter, who suffers from a crippling social anxiety. “Readers should get ready for a good, ugly cry after reading Hepworth’s latest. Part tearjerker, part celebration of mothers, this story tugs at the heartstrings, guaranteeing that readers will smile through the tears.” — Booklist, starred review

WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier
The astonishing, powerful debut poetry collection by the winner of a 2016 Whiting Writers’ Award. “A wickedly smart, necessarily solemn, and unmistakably urgent addition to a continually burgeoning canon of Native poetry, alongside such authors as Natalie Diaz, dg okpik, and Jennifer Foerster.” — Booklist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php