Happy #BookBday (5/3/16 Edition)

Nothing brightens a dreary day like a brand-new book! Happy #BookBday to:

THE SPORT OF KINGS by C.E. Morgan
A May 2016 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! This epic novel steeped in American history charts the course of a Kentucky horse breeder, his daughter, and a black man fresh from prison working in the stables, as they try to mold a fiery thoroughbred filly named Hellsmouth into a Triple Crown champion. “Vaultingly ambitious, thrillingly well-written, charged with moral fervor and rueful compassion. How will this dazzling writer astonish us next time?” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES by Kate Tempest
A Buzzfeed’s 19 Incredible New Spring Books pick! “Rapper, performance artist, and poet Tempest has taken the main plot lines contained in her critically acclaimed hip-hop album Everyone Down and expanded them into this spectacularly moving debut novel. Fans of Margo Lanagan and Adam Rapp will be entranced by Tempest’s brutally modern prose and her tender understanding of young people coming of age in an unforgiving world.” — School Library Journal, starred review

DESERT BOYS by Chris McCormick
In the tradition of WE, THE ANIMALS by Justin Torres, DESERT BOYS follows the life of Daley Kushner, growing up, coming out, and grappling with the remnants of his childhood in California’s Mojave Desert. “[The stories are] told in a simple, clean, and polished style a reader can easily settle into. When we leave Antelope Valley we immediately want to go back, so achingly good are these beautifully conceived stories.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SOLEMN by Kalisha Buckhanon
Solemn Redvine is a precocious Mississippi girl who must face her father to discover the truth of who she really is. “Buckhanon’s outstanding writing fills this work with wonderfully evocative phrasing that will linger with readers. This work earns a place alongside James Hannaham’s DELICIOUS FOODS as top-notch literary fiction sending a message about African American struggles in the 21st century.” — Library Journal

SCREAMIN’ JAY HAWKINS’ ALL-TIME GREATEST HITS by Mark Binelli
Rolling Stone writer Binelli turns his sharp, forceful prose to fiction, in an inventive retelling of the outrageous life of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, a bluesman with one hit and a string of inflammatory guises. “This dreamlike album of real and imagined scenes from a complex artist’s memory bank is as flamboyant a display of light and shadow as one of Hawkins’ stage shows.” — Kirkus Reviews

THE BLUE BATH by Mary Waters-Sayer
A woman’s past comes to haunt her when she discovers she is the subject of a famous artist’s painting. “Set in London and Paris, Water-Sayer’s romantic debut novel is filled with lush settings, sensuous details, and poignant events. Readers will be wholly involved with Kat’s heartbreaking dilemma.” — Booklist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.