Deborah Eisenberg Wins the PEN/Faulker Award for Fiction!

Congratulations to Deborah Eisenberg whose anthology of short stories (THE COLLECTED STORIES OF DEBORAH EISENBERG) was awarded the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction! 

From the press release


Eisenberg's stories have long been admired for their exceptional language and nuanced evocation of thought and emotion. About this collection, judge Laura Furman says, “From the first to the last of her collected stories, Deborah Eisenberg demonstrates her sharp intelligence, literary inventiveness, and her clear understanding of human interconnectedness as it exists in isolation. 

The PEN/Faulkner Award was first given in 1981. Past winners include last year’s winner Sherman Alexie, and Joseph O’Neill, E.L. Doctorow, Ann Patchett, Philip Roth, John Updike, and John Edgar Wideman, among others.

Eisenberg will be awarded her prize in a ceremony on May 7th at the Folger Theatre in Washington DC.

If you would like to attend, tickets can be purchased here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.