Maximum Shelf: CAPE MAY

Maximum Shelf: CAPE MAY

In case you missed it, last week’s edition of Maximum Shelf Awareness featured CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek! Late September 1957. Henry and Effie, very young newlyweds from Georgia, arrive in Cape May, New Jersey, for their honeymoon only to find the town is deserted. Feeling shy of each other and isolated, they decide to […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE SILENT PATIENT

Maximum Shelf: THE SILENT PATIENT

Today’s Maximum Shelf Awareness pick is the “‘IT’ thriller of 2019,” “Masterful,” and “Set[s] the bar for psychological thrillers” according your librarian pals. Alex Michaelides’s THE SILENT PATIENT lures readers in with a tantalizing premise: a woman has murdered her husband in cold blood, and then refuses to say why. The intricately plotted story, inspired […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE NIGHT TIGER

Maximum Shelf: THE NIGHT TIGER

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee, is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo: THE NIGHT TIGER. In this utterly transporting story set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, an apprentice dressmaker named Ji Lin moonlights as a dancehall girl to help pay […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: AN UNEXPLAINED DEATH

Maximum Shelf: AN UNEXPLAINED DEATH

“If my pursuits appear unhealthy to the modern eye, that is simply because they are no longer fashionable. Mine is the unhealthiness of the modern-day ascetic, the anchorite, the mortifier of the flesh. These moments I seek are my mementi mori, ritual injunctions reminding me that my own death is a little closer every day.” […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SKY IN THE DEEP

Maximum Shelf: SKY IN THE DEEP

In case you missed it, last week’s edition of Maximum Shelf Awareness featured SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young! “Vegr yfir fior. Honor above life. The first whistle cut into the air from our right, warning us to get ready and I closed my eyes, feeling the steadiness of the earth beneath my feet. […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SOMETIMES I LIE

Maximum Shelf: SOMETIMES I LIE

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. This is how Alice Feeney’s debut novel, SOMETIMES I LIE, starts. And fans of psychological thrillers won’t be able to stop reading after that, according […]

Read More…

Max Shelf: Rodale Kids

Max Shelf: Rodale Kids

This week’s Maximum Shelf Awareness feature celebrates the launch of Rodale Kids, a new children’s imprint from Rodale Books. “It’s long been a dream of mine to expand our award-winning and bestselling Rodale Books publishing program to kids, who are most open to learning new things. Our best-in-class books, magazines and products have transformed the […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: HAPPINESS

Maximum Shelf: HAPPINESS

Today’s Maximum Shelf Awareness feature is HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham. In her debut memoir, award-winning playwright and performance artist Heather Harpham recounts her charming courtship with a New Yorker named Brian, and how it ends, full stop, when Heather becomes pregnant. Heather returns home to California to deliver […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: NEVER LET YOU GO

Maximum Shelf: NEVER LET YOU GO

Never let you go. Is it a promise or a threat? Chevy Stevens‘ fifth terrific and deeply personal thriller, NEVER LET YOU GO, is this week’s Maximum Shelf Awareness feature. The author of STILL MISSING targets her readership with a novel that hits all the notes they come to expect from her—and ratchets up the […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE BOOK OF SPECULATION

Maximum Shelf: THE BOOK OF SPECULATION

“I came across this book at auction as part of a larger lot I purchased on speculation. The damage renders it useless to me, but a name inside it led me to believe it might be of interest to you or your family…” Last week’s Maximum Shelf Awareness featured a first novel near and dear […]

Read More…

css.php