Happy #PubDay (2/11/20)

Happy #PubDay to a moving novel about the aftershocks of domestic terrorism + a hilarious story filled with Hollywood glitz, glamour, and scandal. EDEN MINE by S.M. Hulse “Hulse follows up her strong debut (BLACK RIVER, 2015) with an even stronger novel about the fallout from an act of domestic terrorism…Reflective, evocative, and quietly moving.”–Kirkus […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/5/20)

The making of a modern American cinematic masterpiece, the electrifying works of literature that shaped a beloved writer’s life, research into the root causes of illness, and a funny and honest guide with a celebrity OB-GYN–all in today’s nonfiction round-up. THE BIG GOODBYE: Chinatown and the Last Years of Hollywood by Sam Wasson 2 starred […]

Read More…

Meet the Author, er, Raconteur: John Waters

Meet the Author, er, Raconteur: John Waters

Acclaimed spinner-of -yarns and overall cool dude John Waters shares more of himself in MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder. No one knows more about everything—especially everything rude, clever, and offensively compelling—than John Waters. The man in the pencil-thin mustache, auteur of the transgressive movie classics Pink Flamingos, Polyester, the original Hairspray, […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (5/29/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (5/29/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these big new releases! SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts A June 2018 Indie Next pick and a Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction pick! “Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of […]

Read More…

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes five Macmillan titles! ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (5/23/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (5/23/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! A GOOD COUNTRY by Laleh Khadivi Three starred reviews! An achingly timely novel about the radicalization of a Muslim teen in California—about where identity truly lies, and how we find it. “Brilliantly channeling the minds of angst-filled teenagers with barely formed worldviews who seesaw between brash self-confidence […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (4/13/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/13/17 Edition)

We’ve got two amazing debuts and three excellent series entries for you this #ThrillerThursday: IF WE WERE VILLAINS by M.L. Rio A literary debut in the tradition of Donna Tartt’s THE SECRET HISTORY about a group of seven young actors studying Shakespeare at an elite arts school who find their friendship turned into nasty rivalry […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (4/6/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/6/17 Edition)

It’s a rainy & foggy #ThrillerThursday here in Gotham—perfect for curling up with one of these mysteries: THE LOST ORDER by Steve Berry The Knights of the Golden Circle was the largest and most dangerous clandestine organization in American history, hiding billions in stolen gold and silver across the United States. Now, 160 years later, […]

Read More…

css.php