Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Salutations and fine Book Day o'Birth to three historical novels: 

DARK AEMILIA by Sally O'Reilly
Perfect for readers of Deborah Harkness, Paula Brackston, and Sarah Dunant, O'Reilly's 17th century tale of William Shakespeare's dark lady and one true love is full of sorcery and passion. “O’Reilly casts her story with witches, doomed royals, evil courtiers, and star-crossed lovers, as if it were a Jacobean play. But her finest accomplishment is not the tribute she pays to these historical figures, but the bold imagination she displays in bringing them together.” — Publishers Weekly

THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE: or, On the Segregation of the Queen by Laurie King
Full of brilliant deduction, disguises, and danger, this 20th anniversary edition of the first book of the Mary Russell–Sherlock Holmes mysteries is “wonderfully original and entertaining...absorbing from beginning to end” (Booklist).

HANNIBAL: Enemy of Rome by Ben Kane
Rome’s greatest enemy is Carthage, and Carthage’s greatest general is Hannibal—this is Hannibal’s story, as his personal quest for revenge after his confidant’s son is sold into slavery, leads to the greatest conflict of the ancient world. 

Now let the festivities commence! (Or in modern parlance, let's have cake!) [...]

Read More...

Friday Reads (1/31/14 Edition)

Friday Reads (1/31/14 Edition)

TGIF friends! Hopefully those of you who attended ALA Midwinter made it home safely and are nominating books like crazy for LibraryReads (the deadline for the March list is today so hurry!).

Already done? Then why not share your Friday Reads with us!

Talia and Anne are treating themselves like royalty with pedicures and these historical novels:

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review  

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
British author Grant turns away from YA for a decidedly adult first novel set in late eighteenth-century London. In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans... "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." – Booklist  

What are you reading this Friday? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib

[...]

Read More...

css.php