Congrats, Val!

Congrats, Val!

Congratulations to Val Stark of Quincy Public Library who won our signed book giveaway from the May e-newsletter!

Val won signed copies of:

BREAKING SILENCE, Linda Castillo
AN EVIL EYE, Jason Goodwin
THE KING OF PLAGUES, Jonathan Maberry
BORN AT MIDNIGHT, C.C. Hunter

Enjoy them, Val!

[...]

Read More...

Mary Kay Andrews Galleys Seeking a Ride to the Beach

Mary Kay Andrews Galleys Seeking a Ride to the Beach

[UPDATE]: I have sent out all of the galleys of SUMMER RENTAL that we had available. Thanks and enjoy!

The weather has finally taken a turn for the sunny here in NYC and it's time we all started thinking about swimsuits and sand. 

I have a stack of galleys on my desk of Mary Kay Andrews' latest, SUMMER RENTAL, that need to find rides to the beach, ASAP. If you're an Andrews fan, or just looking for a book to keep you company in the sun, then shoot us an email with your name, library, and full mailing address and we'll send you a copy! Send requests to: Library @ MacmillanUSA.com

Library Journal highlighted SUMMER RENTAL in their "Women's Summer Fiction" section and gave it a big orange star. Their review reads, "Andrews (THE FIXER-UPPER) is at her warm and funny best with this story of three girlfriends who rent a beach cottage on North Carolina’s Outer Banks. A month of fun, frolicking, romance, and self-discovery ensues, while the arrival of a fourth roommate ratchets up the drama. Andrews simply excels at creating the kind of characters readers can relate to, and she has a fabulous sense of humor to boot. For all women’s fiction fans, especially those who enjoy ensemble fiction."

Publishers Weekly says, "This warm weather treat has a lot going for it, not least the sunny forecast that summer love can blossom into a four-season commitment."

[...]

Read More...

The 2011 Edgar Award-Winners!

The 2011 Edgar Award-Winners!

Well, we couldn't be happier. A few of our favorite 2010 mystery authors walked out of the Grand Hyatt Hotel last night as Edgar Award-winners! A huge congratulations to everyone nominated; this year's list was full of nail-biting thillers, chilling crime, and simply great mystery writing. Our winners are as follows:

Winner for Best Novel:

THE LOCK ARTIST by Steve Hamilton

Winner for Best First Novel by an American Author:

ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce Desilva

The 2011 Edgar Allan Poe Award-winners were announced April 28th, 2011 at a black tie gala at the Grand Hyatt Hotel, New York City. The Edgars honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2010.

[UPDATE]We just dug up four ROGUE ISLAND galleys that were hiding in the back of our shelves. If you would like a copy of this Edgar Award-winner, send your name, library, and full mailing address to: Library @MacmillanUSA.com.

[...]

Read More...

Deathless Release and Giveaway!

Deathless Release and Giveaway!

Last night Catherynne M. Valente celebrated the release of DEATHLESS, her folkloric novel that follows the rules of Russian fables. Between the pages you'll find the young and clever Marya Morevna, unwilling bride of Koschei the Deathless; also expect tricks and tasks from Baba Yaga, mischief from Stalinist house elves, magical quests, secrecy, bureaucracy, and games of lust and power.

Publishers Weekly calls it, "enchanting." Kirkus Reviews calls it, "dazzling." And Library Journal says it, "will cast a spell on readers and not let go. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Gregory Maguire, and the like, this is essential."

The most important thing to remember is that you have to actually read the book and stop staring at the bewitching cover. Yes, io9 called it, "the coolest looking book cover we've seen in ages," and yes, Tor.com ran a gushy article on Beth White's brilliant paper cut-out design, but you still have to look away to get to the words. 

[UPDATE:] Thanks to all who entered! The contest is now closed and winners have been notified!

Yesterday I snapped up two hardcovers of DEATHLESS and if you want a chance to win one, send an e-mail to library @ macmillanusa dot com with your full mailing address today! I will notify winners tomorrow. [...]

Read More...

Eaarth: A ‘Books for a Better Life’ Award Winner

Eaarth: A ‘Books for a Better Life’ Award Winner

In his recent release, EAARTH, Bill McKibben argues that we've created, in very short order, a new planet, still recognizable but fundamentally different, and it's now time to scale back and create a sustainable society that can weather futher change.

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society has selected this book as the winner of their Books for a Better Life Award in the Green category! If you would like a copy, I have a few available! Shoot me an email (subject: Eaarth) to: library at macmillanusa dot com

[...]

Read More...

Happy March Minotaur Mystery Madness Day! GIVEAWAY

Happy March Minotaur Mystery Madness Day! GIVEAWAY

It's Tuesday and I'm feeling sassy, so I'm dubbing today March Minotaur Mystery Madness Day

I pulled together two delicious mystery snack packs* for you to get your hands on. Click either box to email library at macmillanusa dot com and add your preference for "Combo A" or "Combo B" in the Subject Line (yes, yes, you can enter to win both!). Get those entries in before Thursday.

UPDATE: Contest now closed. Thanks to those who entered. Winners have been notified!

THE LOCK ARTIST, by Steve Hamilton: This Alex Award winning thriller is, as The New York Times Book Review said, "too good for words."
BAD BIRD, by Chris Knopf: Knopf kicks off his second Hamptons mystery with an explosive beginning, then pulls us back to the past of roguish lawyer Jackie Swaitkowski, and throws in a few twists before the end. Hold on tight!
THE KENKEN KILLINGS, by Parnell Hall: There are actually KenKen and crosswords in the pages of this book so you can solve this fun and quick witted puzzle mystery!

36 YALTA BOULEVARD, by Olen Steinhauer: Steinhauer earned this subtle and intelligent political thriller starred reviews from both Booklist and Library Journal.
PAST TENSE, by Catherine Aird: This elegant and mischievious whodunit earned a starred review from Publishers Weekly.
THE CURSE-MAKER, by Kelli Stanley: Booklist calls this one "an engrossing mystery, in which the first murder leads to a typically Roman orgy of revenge," with "fascinating and never heavy-handed information on Roman life," (yep, a starred review for this one, as well).

[...]

Read More...

Geek Week Event Recap & Trade of Queens GIVEAWAY!

Geek Week Event Recap & Trade of Queens GIVEAWAY!

You guys remember Ben, right? Oh, you know, Ben! From waaay back when (a month ago)?

He's agreed to be my unofficial Tor liaison: slipping me galleys hot off the press and passing on whispers about upcoming Tor excitement, so I can pass it on to you! Last night Ben was gentleman enough to escort the new girl (me) to that super awesome Tor reading and concert at Housing Works Bookstore Cafe I told you all about. 

It's beyond me how Jo Walton and Charles Stross have escaped reading in New York for this long since they were both eloquent and hilarious readers. If you get the chance to see either of them read, do it. 

I also managed to scrounge up two copies of Stross' latest, THE TRADE OF QUEENS, for you librarians! If you would like to be entered into the drawing, send an email this week to: library at macmillanusa dot com (subject: Stross Giveaway!).

[...]

Read More...

Eve Winners Rejoice!

Eve Winners Rejoice!

Congrats to the winners of the Iris Johansen galley giveaway! All the lucky librarians have been contacted and their copies of EVE are in the mail.

What’s that? You didn’t know there was a galley giveaway?! Well, sign up for our mailing list, silly! Sheesh.

Also, don’t forget there’s still plenty of time to enter our I SHALL NOT HATE giveaway, details here.

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

[...]

Read More...

Words of Peace, I SHALL NOT HATE Giveaway

Words of Peace, I SHALL NOT HATE Giveaway

After losing three daughters and a niece to an Israeli tank shell in 2009, Palestinian Doctor Izzeldin Abuelaish has no words of revenge, only words of peace for Israelis and Palestinians in his new book, I SHALL NOT HATE

Nobel Peace Prize laureate, Elie Wiesel says, "This story is a necessary lesson against hatred and revenge."

Former President Jimmy Carter says, "In this book, Doctor Abuelaish has expressed a remarkable commitment to forgiveness and reconciliation that describes the foundation for a permanent peace in the Holy Land."

Also see articles and interviews in the New York Times, The Huffington Post, and Democracy Now!

We have 10 copies of I SHALL NOT HATE! If you would like a chance to get your hands on one, email your full mailing address to library at macmillanusa dot com (subject: I Shall Not Hate) by this Friday (2/11).*

[...]

Read More...

css.php