ALA Annual – Sunday events

ALA Annual – Sunday events

It’s ah-MAY-zing how much good stuff we’ve got happening today! Come by the Macmillan (adult) booth #528 for signings & giveaways, sign our birthday card and/or write us a special birthday wish, get your badge catified, and attend our many events! Read on for the full scoop: First Author, First Book: Veterans & Rookies 8:30-10:00am […]

Read More…

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

Great news! Tulsa librarian Will Thomas's latest Barker & Llewellyn historical mystery, FATAL ENQUIRY, received a great review in Marilyn Stasio's New York Times Book Review mystery column this past Sunday!

“[A] Classic detective duo…. The best fun in this Big Boys’ Adventure Book is observing [protagonist Cyrus] Barker in action. An autodidact who keeps a French chef in his kitchen and rare penjing trees in his garden, he’s a formidable foe who applies the wits he was born with (and the subversive skills he acquires in Canton) in hand-to-hand combat.” New York Times Book Review (read the full review here)

Additional praise for FATAL ENQUIRY:

“Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” Library Journal, starred review

“Readers will relish the appealing characters, clever twists, and colorful vision of late 19th-century London.” — Publishers Weekly

“Well-crafted and immersive, this a great addition to the to-be-read stacks of Thomas’ fans, as well as those of Alex Grecian and Anne Perry’s.” — Booklist

Don't miss Will Thomas at ALA Annual

[...]

Read More...

Books BY Librarians

Books BY Librarians

We love books (duh). And we love librarians (umm, duh!). So that means we double-love these books by librarians (and you should, too):

FATAL ENQUIRY by Will Thomas
Thomas's Barker & Llewellyn series, set in Victoria’s England, have won him a devoted following and his latest has the duo trying to figure out a reluctant ally's real motives. “Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” — Library Journal, starred review

Thomas works as a librarian in Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

CRADLE TO GRAVE by Eleanor Kuhns
On sale June 17, 2014
In the “intriguing” (Publishers Weekly) third entry in the late-18th-century historical mystery series, Will Rees is stunned to learn a Shaker friend of his has been accused of kidnapping and murder.

Kuhns is the 2011 winner of the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel competition. She is currently the Assistant Director at the Goshen Public Library in Orange County, New York.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

SWAY by Kat Spears
On sale September 16, 2014
In this hilarious and often poignant debut YA, a young man who avoids emotional connection at all costs, is forced to open his heart when he meets the girl of his dreams in this Cyrano De Bergerac story with a modern twist.

Spears works at the Library of Virginia where she organizes author appearances and other literary events.  

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
On sale October 14, 2014
An exquisite seaside resort, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday, and rich 1930s detail lay the setting for this fantastic Golden Age–style debut mystery by young librarian Weaver. “An elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” — New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie

Weaver is the branch manager at Oberlin, the headquarters branch of the Allen Parish Libraries in Louisiana.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

 

If you're going to ALA Annual, don't miss Will Thomas, Kat Spears, and Ashley Weaver on the “I’m a Librarian! NO! I’m an Author! NO! I’m a Librarian AND an Author” panel!

[...]

Read More...

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2014 (Booth #528)

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2014 (Booth #528)

ALA14 headerVIVA LAS VEGAS! We're ridiculously excited to see your happy little faces in the Macmillan (adult) booth #528 and at all of our great events at ALA Annual next month. Check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP! 
Friday, June 27

In-booth signing with Jane Cleland & Hannah Dennison
5:30-7:00pm
Las Vegas Convention Center | Booth #528

Jane Cleland and Hannah Dennison will be signing complimentary copies of BLOOD RUBIES and MURDER AT HONEYCHURCH HALL.

The Michael L. Printz Program & Reception
8:00-10:00pm
Paris Las Vegas | Versailles Ballroom
Ticketed event, space is limited

Come listen to the 2014 Michael L. Printz honor award-winning authors including Rainbow Rowell (ELEANOR & PARK) as they're interviewed by a panel of teens at this YALSA & Booklist-sponsored event. 

Tickets are $34-40. Details and purchasing information available here.

Saturday, June 28

The AAP’s Book-A-Licious Breakfast
8:30-10:00am
Las Vegas Hotel | Pavilion 10
RSVP required, space is limited

Join New York Times bestselling author Linda Castillo (THE DEAD WILL TELL) for breakfast and book-talk!  

Details and RSVP here.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

Isn't it Romantic?
8:30-10:00am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Room N263

Meet Deborah Coonts (LUCKY BASTARD) and pick up a complimentary copy of her latest Lucky O'Toole, Las Vegas Adventure novel. 


In-booth signing with Jessica Love and Catherine Linka

9:00-10:00am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Booth #528

Jessica Love and Catherine Linka will be signing complimentary copies of PUSH GIRL and A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS.

Edelweiss button  PUSH GIRL E-galley available on Edelweiss

DRC button - girl called fearless A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS E-galley available on Edelweiss

Speed Dating with Kat Spears and Catherine Linka
10:30-11:30am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Room N112
RSVP required, space is limited

Meet YA authors Kat Spears (SWAY) and Catherine Linka (A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS) and receive complimentary copies of their debut novels!  

Details and RSVP here

Edelweiss button SWAY E-galley available on Edelweiss

 

[...]

Read More...

Library Journal’s 2014 Mystery Preview

Library Journal’s 2014 Mystery Preview

We loooove mysteries (the bloodier the better) and your patrons do, too! Our friend and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a mystery preview column for LJ and we're thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many of our titles:

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
On sale November 4, 2014
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator.

BOOTY BONES by Carolyn Haines
On sale May 20, 2014
In Haines's 14th charming Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, Sarah and her fiance Graf's island vacation goes disastrously awry when she's asked to solve the murder of a treasure-hunter.

BROADCHURCH by Erin Kelly
On sale September 2, 2014
This brilliant novelization of the hit television show Broadchurch follows Detectives Alec Hardy and Ellie Miller as they search for a young boy's killer in a quiet British seaside town.

CRADLE TO GRAVE by Eleanor Kuhns
On sale June 17, 2014
In the next Will Rees mystery from Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America competition winner Kuhns, Rees is stunned to learn a Shaker friend of his has been accused of kidnapping and murder. 

FATAL ENQUIRY by Will Thomas
On sale May 13, 2014
Thomas is an Oklahoma librarian whose Barker & Llewellyn series, set in Victoria’s England, have won him a devoted following. His latest has the duo trying to figure out a reluctant ally's real motives.

FIVE by Ursula Archer
On sale December 9, 2014
Two Austrian detectives must investigate a series of murders committed by a killer who tattoos map coordinates on his victims in a twisted geocaching game. 

FROZEN DEAD by Bernard Minier
On sale August 12, 2014
A suspenseful and chilling murder mystery set in a high-security asylum for the criminally insane and the snowy mountains of the French Pyrénées.  

INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl
On sale May 6, 2014
In Dahl's accomplished debut, young journalist Rebekah Roberts finds herself drawn into her mother's tight-knit world when she's assigned to cover the murder of an Hasidic Jew.

LAND OF SHADOWS by Rachel Howzell Hall
On sale June 10, 2014
Homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton tries to connect a teen’s death with her own sister’s disappearance.

MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron
On sale October 28, 2014
A repo man's ordinary life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a dead realtor in his head.

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
On sale October 14, 2014
An exquisite seaside resort, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday, and rich 1930s detail lay the setting for this fantastic Golden Age–style debut mystery by young librarian Weaver. 

WINK OF AN EYE by Lynn Chandler Willis
On sale November 18, 2014
The first woman to win the Minotaur Books/PWA Best First Private Eye Novel Competition in over 10 years, Willis's debut features PI Gypsy Moran who gets roped into a case of murder and police corruption in Texas.

Some titles are available on Edelweiss now—get whitelisted and start reading!

[...]

Read More...

css.php