Happy #BookBday (5/19/15 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (5/19/15 Edition)

#BookBdays mean cake & celebration! Today we party with these new releases: BEACH TOWN by Mary Kay Andrews Location scout Greer Hennessy has found the perfect undiscovered beach town for a big budget movie, but finds a formidable obstacle (and romantic interest) in the town mayor, Eben Thinadeaux. “Andrews expertly combines an intriguing love story […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: EVERYBODY RISE

Maximum Shelf: EVERYBODY RISE

Last week’s Maximum Shelf Awareness feature was on one of our favorite debut novels coming this summer: EVERYBODY RISE by New York Times reporter Stephanie Clifford. A Bonfire of the Vanities for the 21st century mixed with Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep and Amor Towles’s Rules of Civility, EVERYBODY RISE follows the rise and ultimate fall of […]

Read More…

Happy Belated #BookBday to WOLF IN WHITE VAN

Happy Belated #BookBday to WOLF IN WHITE VAN

Today we’d like to wish a belated #BookBday to WOLF IN WHITE VAN by John Darnielle, who also happens to be the front man of the indie band The Mountain Goats. In this literary debut, teenager Sean Phillips is isolated by a horrific injury that left him disfigured. He seeks solace in creating new worlds […]

Read More…

Win a signed copy of SHOTGUN LOVESONGS!

Win a signed copy of SHOTGUN LOVESONGS!

Nick Butler polaroidWe (and many of you) recently had the pleasure of meeting Nickolas Butler at PLA and we learned a few things about him:

1) He was working in a liquor store when he found out he was admitted into the Iowa Writers' Workshop

2) He says "Holy cats!" a lot

3) He's incredibly nice (we expected that from the whole Midwest thing) and well-deserving of the praise for his book, SHOTGUN LOVESONGS

And while we were at PLA, we scored a signed copy of SHOTGUN LOVESONGS for one lucky librarian! So if you missed Nick at PLA, now's your chance to get a signed copy of his book!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Shotgun Lovesongs) by Sunday, April 6. Make sure to include your library's mailing address to be placed in the random drawing. Read on for the fine print. Good luck!

UPDATE 4/14: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to Glenna Clark Fallin of West Feliciana Parish Library in St. Francisville, LA!

 

[...]

Read More...

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

The March LibraryReads list may have just been announced (thank you to everyone who voted for PRECIOUS THING!!!), but we're already excited about April's potential picks. With February being such a short month and the Winter Olympics distracting us from reading time, the March 1 deadline to nominate April 2014 publications will be here faster than Shani Davis can break a new speedskating record!

Here's the inside track on our hot April titles: 

KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
In New York Times bestselling author Scottoline's latest standalone, Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, when they get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail Ryan’s future. Jake makes a split-second decision that saves his son from formal punishment, but plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. When a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose them, Jake must do anything he can to prevent the further unraveling of his family.

THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
When Declan O Donnell flees his troubled life on land by setting out on the Pacific Ocean in his boat, the Plover, he discovers something much more interesting than the solitude he sought. "Doyle (editor, Portland Magazine) has written a novel in the adventurous style of Jack London and Robert Louis Stevenson but with a gentle mocking of their valorization of the individual as absolute. Readers will enjoy this bracing and euphoric ode to the vastness of the ocean and the unexpectedness of life." — Library Journal, starred review

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's New York Times bestselling Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. "Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends." — Library Journal, starred review 

DON'T EVER LOOK BACK by Daniel Friedman
In this "alternately humorous and moving sequel" (Publishers Weekly) to the Edgar Award-nominated debut DON'T EVER GET OLD, feisty octogenarian Buck Schatz is trying to close the case on some unsolved robberies from his past.

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. "Why the buzz: Voice, Voice, Voice! A story that takes you places you have never been and will stay with you forever." — Publishers Weekly, ABA's Winter Institute 9 round-up

MIMI MALLOY AT LAST by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 
 

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future.

For more April LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

[...]

Read More...

css.php