National Autism Awareness Month Picks

National Autism Awareness Month Picks

April is a month that challenges readers in the United States. Not only is it National Poetry Month and National Sexual Assault Awareness Month, it's also National Autism Awareness Month.

The Autism Society says, 

In order to highlight the growing need for concern and awareness about autism, the Autism Society has been celebrating National Autism Awareness Month since the 1970s. The United States recognizes April as a special opportunity for everyone to educate the public about autism and issues within the autism community.

This is the perfect time to expand our understanding of autism and Asperger's syndrome. We recommend reading QUIRKY, YES---HOPELESS, NOTHE MYTH OF AUTISM, and THE AGE OF AUTISM

[...]

Read More...

Deborah Eisenberg Wins the PEN/Faulker Award for Fiction!

Deborah Eisenberg Wins the PEN/Faulker Award for Fiction!

Congratulations to Deborah Eisenberg whose anthology of short stories (THE COLLECTED STORIES OF DEBORAH EISENBERG) was awarded the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction! 

From the press release

 

Eisenberg's stories have long been admired for their exceptional language and nuanced evocation of thought and emotion. About this collection, judge Laura Furman says, “From the first to the last of her collected stories, Deborah Eisenberg demonstrates her sharp intelligence, literary inventiveness, and her clear understanding of human interconnectedness as it exists in isolation. 

The PEN/Faulkner Award was first given in 1981. Past winners include last year’s winner Sherman Alexie, and Joseph O’Neill, E.L. Doctorow, Ann Patchett, Philip Roth, John Updike, and John Edgar Wideman, among others.

Eisenberg will be awarded her prize in a ceremony on May 7th at the Folger Theatre in Washington DC. [...]

Read More...

Happy National Poetry Month

Happy National Poetry Month

To celebrate this most eloquent of months, I've picked out three poetry collections that we think will get you thinking.

All the Whiskey in Heaven
Charles Bernstein

"This gathering of 30 years worth of work by the prominent L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E poet and essayist offers a rigorous critique of the art of poetry itself, which means, among other things, a thorough investigation of language and the mind. [...] These exhilarating, challenging poems raise countless essential questions about the form and function of poetry." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

[...]

Read More...

Top YA Picks for Winter 2011!

Top YA Picks for Winter 2011!

Spring is just around the corner so here's one last look at some of our favorite YA Winter titles!

Miles from Ordinary
Carol Lynch Williams

It's the first day of summer and Lacey has a new job at the library. Her mom, who seems so much better these days, has a new job, too. But hope of a normal life is too much to ask for as memories of the past rush in and Lacey's day turns from a new beginning to a desperate scramble to stay afloat.

 

 

Born at Midnight
C. C. Hunter

Welcome to Shadow Falls: a camp for vampires, shapeshifters, witches, and Kylie Galen. Shadow Falls is a place for teens to learn skills that will help them harness their supernatural powers, but Kylie has enough trouble balancing the affections of Derek the half-fae and Lucas the werewolf.

 

[...]

Read More...

10 Can’t-Miss SFF Books from Kirkus Reviews

10 Can’t-Miss SFF Books from Kirkus Reviews

This week Kirkus Reviews highlighted 10 Can't-Miss Science Fiction and Fantasy Books for 2011 including a few of our in-house favorites!

They selected Jo Walton's AMONG OTHERS because, "All SF fans will get what Morwenna is about, particularly the joy she experiences discovering new books and other people to talk to about them."

Richard Matheson's OTHER KINGDOMS caught their eye for the "accomplished and tragic" story: a "star-crossed romance between two lovers from different worlds."

Finally, THE QUANTUM THIEF made the list because author Hannu Rajaniemi, "is clearly one of those disgustingly brilliant people whom you could hate if you didn't admire him so much." [...]

Read More...

Deathless Release and Giveaway!

Deathless Release and Giveaway!

Last night Catherynne M. Valente celebrated the release of DEATHLESS, her folkloric novel that follows the rules of Russian fables. Between the pages you'll find the young and clever Marya Morevna, unwilling bride of Koschei the Deathless; also expect tricks and tasks from Baba Yaga, mischief from Stalinist house elves, magical quests, secrecy, bureaucracy, and games of lust and power.

Publishers Weekly calls it, "enchanting." Kirkus Reviews calls it, "dazzling." And Library Journal says it, "will cast a spell on readers and not let go. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Gregory Maguire, and the like, this is essential."

The most important thing to remember is that you have to actually read the book and stop staring at the bewitching cover. Yes, io9 called it, "the coolest looking book cover we've seen in ages," and yes, Tor.com ran a gushy article on Beth White's brilliant paper cut-out design, but you still have to look away to get to the words. 

[UPDATE:] Thanks to all who entered! The contest is now closed and winners have been notified!

Yesterday I snapped up two hardcovers of DEATHLESS and if you want a chance to win one, send an e-mail to library @ macmillanusa dot com with your full mailing address today! I will notify winners tomorrow. [...]

Read More...

CBS: Ronald Reagan’s Close Call

CBS: Ronald Reagan’s Close Call

This weekend, CBS aired a short segment on the near assassination of Ronald Reagan. Del Quentin Wilber, author of RAWHIDE DOWN, was interviewed for the piece and discloses some of the unexpected effects of the shooting.

Wilber says,

"[Reagan] got a lot of benefit down the road... Iran–Contra... the other controversies may have sunk another presidency, but they didn't sink his and I'm convinced it's because the people of America got a rare glimpse of someone without the facade on."

[...]

Read More...

An Interview with Albert Brooks

An Interview with Albert Brooks

Academy Award-nominated actor Albert Brooks wrote a thrilling near-future novel that takes place in America after cancer is cured, L.A. is devastated by an earthquake, and the American government is financially ruined.

In their review of 2030 Publishers Weekly says, "Brooks's mordant vision encompasses the future of politics, medicine, entertainment, and daily living, resulting in a novel as entertaining as it is thought provoking, like something from the imagination of a borscht belt H.G. Wells."

Publishers Weekly also snagged some of Brooks' time for a quick interview in which he discusses writing a novel versus a screenplay, why he chose America's near future as the driving element in 2030, and more. Read the full interview here! [...]

Read More...

Two Stars for Dark Jenny

Two Stars for Dark Jenny

Alex Bledsoe continues his mysterious and scandal-riddled Eddie LaCrosse series with DARK JENNY, where once again classic fantasy meets hard-boiled detective fiction (after THE SWORD-EDGED BLONDE and BURN ME DEADLY). This case brings us back to Eddie's early years to solve an Aurthurian-type court murder and reviewers are delighted. 

"Bledsoe’s clever combination of noir and myth makes for an engaging story, and placing investigator Eddy at the center offers a fresh twist. Bledsoe’s characters are especially memorable, including Dave Agravaine, a bully who likes to hit women; overweight and overworked but loyal Bob Kay; and Marc’s nephew, Dread Ted Medraft—not to mention the giggleweed-smoking Kern. Fans of Bledsoe’s other blends of fantasy and noir will love his latest, and new readers will be able to jump right in. Try suggesting this to fans of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files." —Booklist, Starred Review

"The mystery and its ramifications for the Grand Bruan royals will seem familiar to readers of Thomas Malory, but Bledsoe skillfully combines humor, action, deduction, and emotion to make the material fresh and engaging for fans of both fantasy and noir." —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Chat with Alex Bledsoe (@AlexBledsoe) on Twitter!

Enter to win one of five copies available on the GoodReads giveaway page! [...]

Read More...

css.php