Nonfiction Round-Up (3/6/19)

A read-alike for HEAVY and FUN HOME, the return of a Pulitzer Prize-winner, and a pivotal moment in Civil Rights history = Today’s Nonfiction picks!

BENDING TOWARDS JUSTICE:The Birmingham Church Bombing that Changed the Course of Civil Rights by Doug Jones
“This poignant and powerful story tracks changes in Southern life since the 1960s, uncovering hard truths to correct America’s moral compass with an understanding of the need for activism and political discourse to achieve social justice.”–Library Journal

LONG LIVE THE TRIBE OF FATHERLESS GIRLS: A Memoir by T Kira Madden
“In her debut memoir, Madden seems to fold and unfold the maps of her life thus far, bending time to pin points together in wise and unexpected ways… A tale of an artist’s journey that showcases the coexistence of familial love and complication with such shattering grace, understatement, and openness, Madden’s wholly original first book joins unforgettable memoirs like Alison Bechdel’s FUN HOME (2006), Melissa Febos’ ABANDON ME (2017), and Kiese Laymon’s HEAVY (2018).”–Booklist, starred review

THE END OF THE MYTH: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America by Greg Grandin
“To Grandin, Trump’s rhetoric about physically closing the southern border symbolizes the end of centuries of belief that ongoing geographical or trade-based expansion will ensure resources are plentiful enough that ‘everyone can be free’; without that mind-set, he argues, there’s nowhere in the U.S. for Americans to go to escape the country’s internal problems. This is a deeply polemical work, and should be read as such, but it offers a provocative historical exploration of a contentious current issue.” —Publishers Weekly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.