Thriller Thursday (8/27/15 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two series favorites, a debut, and a new novel from a writer serving a life sentence in prison (no joke!):

THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny
The outstanding 11th book in #1 New York Times bestselling author Penny’s Inspector Armand Gamache series is an August 2015 LibraryReads pick, a September 2015 Indie Next pick, and has THREE starred reviews, including this one from Library Journal: “A strong sense of place, a multilayered plot, and well-crafted (and for Penny’s fans, familiar) characters combine for a thoughtful, intriguing tale.”

LAST RAGGED BREATH by Julia Keller
Two stars for the next Bell Elkins novel in which the West Virginia prosecutor must work with a man who, until recently, lived off the grid, but now finds himself charged with murder he didn’t commit. “A beautifully crafted mystery in which Keller explores love, hate, and poverty in a place of stunning natural beauty with pockets of overwhelming ugliness. The ending may leave you in tears.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE DROWNING GROUND by James Marrison

In the vein of the hit TV series Broadchurch, a new police inspector with a mysterious past investigates the disappearance and murder of a young girl in a quiet village in the English Cotswolds. “Marrison’s well-plotted mystery debut may appeal to fans of Elizabeth George and Peter Robinson.” — Booklist

GODLESS COUNTRY by Alaric Hunt
In the new PI novel from prisoner-turned-writer Alaric Hunt, Clayton Guthrie and Rachel Vasquez are tracking a stalker who seems to have developed a taste for more than idle observation. “A nice mix of hard-boiled action and rich character development.” — Booklist

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.