Articles tagged "So Damn Lucky"

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2012 (booth 2544)

exhibiting logoWe're getting geared up for ALA Annual in Anaheim and it's about time we shared all of our exciting plans with you!

See our full schedule below:

FRIDAY, JUNE 22nd

5:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Mignon Fogarty (a.k.a. Grammar Girl) will be signing copies of her Quick & Dirty Tips books and Deb Coonts will be signing copies of SO DAMN LUCKY in our booth.

SATURDAY, JUNE 23RD

10:30-12 PM
Convention Center Rm 202A

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, and Jeri Westerson, author of TROUBLED BONES, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s "Historical Fiction" panel.

11:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Kelli Stanley will be signing copies of CITY OF SECRETS in our booth.

1:30 PM
Exhibit Hall, Aisle 2200

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, will be speaking at ALA’s LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage.

1:30-3:30 pm
Convention Center Rm 209A

Deb Coonts, author of SO DAMN LUCKY, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s “Isn’t It Romantic?” panel.

ALL DAY
Pop Top Stage

A number of excellent Macmillan authors will be speaking on the Popular Topics Stage for Mystery Day! Read all about the Macmillan authors here! And see the full Pop Top Stage schedule here.

ALL DAY
Unshelved Day @ ALA!

Our buddies over at Unshelved are celebrating TEN YEARS (say whaaaat?!) of comic strip goodness and they're encouraging you to show off your Unshelved pride on Saturday at ALA. Details on their blog!

SUNDAY, JUNE 24th

9:00-10:00 am
Convention Center Rm 210A/B

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the event you've all been waiting for... #BOOKBATTLE2: The Sequel! In one corner we have Talia "The Tiger" Sherer. In the other corner we have Chris "The Cutie" Vaccari. These two champs will duke it out to claim the title of Best Book Buzzer Ever! They'll be buzzing about books for both adults and teens! There will be galleys! There will be prizes! There will be A BATTLE TO THE DEATH!!

book battle 2

9:00-10:00 am
Hyatt, Royal Ballroom

YA Author Coffee Klatch with Alex Award-winner Rachel DeWoskin.

Enjoy coffee and meet with a number of great YA authors! Librarians will sit at a table and every 3 or 4 minutes, a new author will arrive at your table to chat.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204A

The Alex Award is given to the top 10 books that appeal to young adults, and is administered by YALSA and sponsored by the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust. The 2012 Alex Award winning authors including Rachel DeWoskin, author of BIG GIRL SMALL, will speak about their books and the award on this panel.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204C

The Great Non-Fiction Read-Alike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That! with Trivia!

As the popularity of non-fiction reading for pleasure continues to grow, librarians have a great opportunity to grow their reader’s advisory skills. All-star panelists Alene Moroni (Manager, Selection & Order, King County), Anna Mickelsen (Reference Librarian, Springfield City), Kaite Stover (Manager, Readers’ Services, Kansas City), Robin Nesbitt (Technical Services Director, Columbus Metropolitan), and Stephanie Chase (Head, Reference, Adult Services, & Programming, Multnomah County) will cover major trends in popular non-fiction and recommend upcoming titles with pre-publication buzz as well as titles from your backlist will satisfy your patrons while the best-selling titles are on hold.

2:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Joel Engel will be signing copies of L.A. '56 in our booth.

4:00 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Francesca Lia Block will be signing copies of THE ELEMENTALS in our booth.

MONDAY, JUNE 25th

10:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Eleanor Kuhns will be signing copies of A SIMPLE MURDER in our booth.

2:00 PM-4:00 PM
Anaheim Marriott, Grand Salon E

Jane Green, author of ANOTHER PIECE OF MY HEART, will be speaking at the ALTAFF "Gala Author Tea." Tickets required.

Read more

ALA Annual's Mystery Day @ the Pop Top Stage!

We're in full-on PLA mode here at Macmillan Castle, but we're pumping the breaks for a minute to bring you news of this year's fantastic line up for Mystery Day at the Pop Top Stage at ALA Annual!

pop top

Here's an early glance at the schedule:

Mystery Day: Saturday, June 23rd

11:00am - 12:00pm

Laugh, or I'll Kill You: A conversation between Chuck Greaves* and Deb Coonts

12:15pm - 1:30pm

Mystery Chicks and Private Dicks: A conversation between Jeri Westerson and Kelli Stanley

2:00pm - 3:00pm

Location, Location, Location: How a Mystery's Setting Impacts the Story - featuring Brian Freeman, Caroline Todd, Charlie Newton, Chuck Greaves, Kelli Stanley, and Mike Lawson

Moderated by: Kelli Stanley

3:15pm - 4:00pm

Attention to Detail: How Research Adds to the Mystery OR How to do Research and Avoid Arrest OR What is #ResearchFail? Featuring Brian Freeman, Caroline Todd, Charlie Newton, and Mike Lawson

Moderated by: Jason Pinter

See the full Mystery Day schedule here. And make sure you add these events to your calendar for ALA Annual!

*Check Greaves wrote a great blog post about his love for librarians. Check it out here.

Read more

EarlyWord Galley Chatting!

If you missed the EarlyWord Galley Chat on Twitter yesterday, I highly recommend you go back and take a look at the conversation (just search hashtag #ewgc).

What's that you say? You're not on Twitter? BIG MISTAKE! These monthly chats are an exceptional way to hear about which galleys other librarians are reading, have read, or plan to read and what made them pick up those books. It's the perfect first look at forthcoming titles.

A few excellent, upcoming Macmillan titles were discussed yesterday. I'll highlight a few for you here:

GRANDDAD, THERE'S A HEAD ON THE BEACH by Colin Cotterill

tweet

SO DAMN LUCKY by Deborah Coonts

tweet

GLAMOUR IN GLASS by Mary Robinette Kowal

tweet

MIDNIGHT IN AUSTENLAND by Shannon Hale

tweet

The next EarlyWord Galley Chat is on February 7th. And if you're looking for news on teen titles, you're in luck! The folks at EarlyWord are adding an EarlyWord YA Galley Chat starting February 14th (hashtag #ewYAgc).

Read more