Articles tagged "Zoje Stage"

2018 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association has announced the final ballot for the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards, and Macmillan has two titles in the running!

Superior Achievement in a Novel
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

Winners will be announced May 11, 2019.

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2018

The year-end best-of lists are still rolling in, and now we’re proud to announce that Library Journal‘s Best Books of 2018 includes 21 Macmillan titles:

Crime Fiction
A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE by Mariah Fredericks

Graphic Novels
WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
SABRINA by Nick Drnaso
BERLIN by Jason Lutes

Horror
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

Pop Fiction
RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood

Romance
THE DUKE WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Kerrigan Byrne

Sci Fi/Fantasy
THE CALCULATING STARS: A Lady Astronaut Novel by Mary Robinette Kowal
BINTI: THE NIGHT MASQUERADE by Nnedi Okorafor
EXIT STRATEGY: The Murderbot Diaries Volume 4 by Martha Wells

Short Stories
EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin
A LUCKY MAN: Stories by Jamel Brinkley

Arts
FLASH: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher Bonanos

Bio/Memoir
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele readmoreremove

Vote Now in the Goodreads Choice Awards 2018

Voting for the 10th Annual Goodreads Choice Awards is now open!

Goodreads has gathered the best titles from across all genres, and we’re happy to share the Macmillan titles currently nominated for your voting pleasure. Voting for the opening round closes November 4th, so head over to Goodreads and submit your votes now.

Fiction
NINE PERFECT STRANGERS by Liane Moriarty
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao

Mystery/Thriller
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney

Historical Fiction
THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah

Fantasy
YEAR ONE: Chronicles of The One, Book 1 by Nora Roberts
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire

readmoreremove

Happy Halloween! (10/31/18)

Trick or treat, bags of sweets, ghosts are walking down the street… blah blah go read books!

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife

An Amazon Book of the Month!

“What a terrific book…I learned so much about Ravens, and even things I didn’t know about the Tower. It’s like spending a long evening with a bottle of whisky as a wise Ravenmaster tells you everything you need to know.”—Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) on Twitter

“Skaife is a very good storyteller, and the book is full of the kind of anecdote that would make a great scene in a movie (like, for instance, the time one of the ravens orchestrated a daring escape from the Tower). A splendid and constantly surprising book.”—Booklist, starred review

Learn more about THE RAVENMASTER from NPR’s interview with author Christopher Skaife

I AM BEHIND YOU by John Ajvide Lindqvist

“Swedish sensation Lundqvist’s (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN) twisting journey into the dark corners of the mind is true psychological horror. It will keep entranced and shocked readers guessing until the very end.”—Library Journal

THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palombo

“Readers who enjoy detail and history will find much to pleased with in this feminist reconsideration.”—Wyatt’s World, Library Journal

“Readers seeking a historical romance or a reboot of an American legend will enjoy this tale.”—Booklist

readmoreremove

Library Journal’s Fearsome Firsts + Booklist’s Top 10 Horror (10/15/18)

Just in time for your spook-tastic thrill-a-chill displays, here are creepy favorites from Library Journal + Booklist:

Library Journal‘s Fearsome Firsts: Horror Fiction from Debut Authors:

BABY TEETH

Booklist‘s Top 10 Horror:

AFTER THE END OF THE WORLD

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES

And don’t forget to join us for Booklist‘s “Falling for Mystery” Webinar on 10/30.

Another LibraryReads Giveaway? Say Whaaaaa? (10/10/18)

We’re so grateful for your continued support of LibraryReads (and our many winning titles) that we’re giving away one set of ALL OF OUR 2018 LibraryReads picks to date!

To enter the giveaway, simply fill in the this form by Wednesday, October 31. * This contest has ended and winners have been contacted.

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah

FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney

GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris

JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier

HOW HARD CAN IT BE? By Allison Pearson

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson

LIES by T.M. Logan

DAUGHTER OF A DAUGHTER OF A QUEEN by Sarah Bird

THE DINNER LIST by Rebecca Serle

THE DREAM DAUGHTER by Diane Chamberlain

To enter the giveaway, simply fill in the this form by Wednesday, October 31. *
This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Entries must be received by Wednesday October 31, 2018 to be eligible. The winner grants Macmillan Library the right to announce their name on Twitter, MacmillanLibrary.com, and any other platform we want to congratulate them on. We will select the potential prize winner at random from among all eligible entries received. If a potential prize winner cannot be reached after three (3) business days, we will select an alternate winner, so check your email.

*THIS CONTEST HAS ENDED AND WINNERS HAVE BEEN CONTACTED. THANK YOU!

July 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for July 2018:

Bestsellers:
I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron

Recent Releases:
RESCUED by David Rosenfelt
THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
WANNA BET?: A Degenerate Gambler’s Guide to Living on the Edge by Artie Lange

Indie Next Picks:
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage (also a July LibraryReads pick!)
THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

Thriller Thursday (7/17/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to an outstanding new debut and two series favorites:

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick, an August 2018 Indie Next Pick, an LJ Best Summer 2018 Debut, and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly

DOUBLE BLIND by Iris Johansen & Roy Johansen
When a body bearing an envelope marked with her name is recovered near her home, Kendra Michaels is eager to investigate a crime that could have personal implications. “Satisfying… Magnetic characters and a twisty, suspenseful plot ensure that readers will eagerly anticipate the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

LJ Best Summer & Early Fall 2018 Debuts

Library Journal‘s latest group of debut picks from Summer & Fall 2018 is actually two lists in one: “Books To Get” (books that LJ reviewers have found strong, insightful, and sure to start everyone talking) and “Books To Anticipate” (forthcoming titles that LJ sees buzz about). We say, BUY ‘EM ALL!
BOOKS TO GET

TREEBORNE by Caleb Johnson
Interviewed about three generations of family in fading Elberta, AL, Janie Treeborne starts by recalling her grandfather’s work on a now-crumbling dam expected to burst and flood their 700-acre homestead. “So vivid and real that readers won’t want [the] stories to end.” (TREEBORNE has three starred reviews)

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
Young wife and mother Daphne, whose Turkish husband is being barred from the country, flees San Francisco with toddler Honey. But living in high-desert Altavista only intensifies her dismay. “There’s so much to love about this novel.”

SEVERANCE by Ling Ma
Completed after having won the Graywolf SLS Prize for the best novel excerpt from an emerging writer, this title lampoons workaholism and apocalyptic sagas equally as Candace Chen, on contract, still obsessively posts pictures of a New York City emptied by Then Shen Fever. “A smart, searing exposé.” readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: August 2018 Indie Next List

Five Macmillan titles made the August 2018 Indie Next List!

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
From the acclaimed author of THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY, a new novel set over the course of a single weekend, as five members of a family confront the lies upon which their lives are built. “Read ASHBY if you haven’t, then grab this.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly readmoreremove

css.php