Articles tagged "Zoje Stage"

LJ Mystery Spotlight Cover Girl: Zoje Stage

We’re thrilled to see Zoje Stage gracing the cover of the April 15, 2018 issue of Library Journal!

The BABY TEETH author did an extensive Q&A with LJ (shout-out to Talia “the terror” Sherer‘s PLA book buzz to a crowd of 1,000 librarians, which made BABY TEETH the most requested giveaway ARC in our booth!), and it was included with seven other Macmillan mysteries in a genre spotlight:

Hector DeJean, associate publicity director of St. Martin’s Minotaur Books imprint, says, “Thrillers focusing on family, marriage, and other domestic relationships have proven wildly popular, and in forthcoming books by Jennifer Hillier and Sandie Jones these intimate connections of family and friendship—beyond married couples—turn deadly.” In JAR OF HEARTS (Jun.), Hillier delves into the story of a woman who survived a relationship with a dangerous boyfriend and kept secrets about her best friend’s murder, while Jones, in her debut, THE OTHER WOMAN (Aug.), focuses on a woman facing an increasingly manipulative mother-in-law.

Anxieties about motherhood and the parent-child relationship are driving other domestic thrillers. Coming in July from St. Martin’s is Zoje Stage’s chilling debut, BABY TEETH, in which silent and emotionally detached seven-year-old Hanna conspires to kill her mother. St. Martin’s executive editor Jennifer Weis devoured the book in one sitting. “I couldn’t look away as it exposed family truths, a child’s threat to her parents’ relationship, and a continuous feeling of impending doom with dire consequences. WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN—it hits all the right notes.” readmoreremove

TxLA 2018 Adult Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Anne’s TxLA 2018 Adult Book Buzz:

HOW TO WALK AWAY* | Katherine Center | 9781250149060 | Out 5/15/18
THE HUSH* | John Hart | 9781250012302 | Available Now
THE KINGS OF BIG SPRING** | Bryan Mealer | 9781250058911 | Available Now
THE HIGH TIDE CLUB* | Mary Kay Andrews | 9781250126061 | Out 5/8/18
SHELTER IN PLACE | Nora Roberts | 9781250161598 | Out 5/29/18
HOW HARD CAN IT BE?* | Allison Pearson | 9781250086082 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
BRING ME BACK*| B.A. Paris | 9781250151339 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
MY EX-LIFE* | Stephen McCauley | 9781250122438 | Out 5/8/18
THE LOST FOR WORDS BOOKSHOP** | Stephanie Butland | 9781250124531 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
BEFORE AND AGAIN* | Barbara Delinsky | 9781250119490 | Out 6/26/18 (LR: 4/20)
THE MERE WIFE** | Maria Dahvana Headley | 9780374208431 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)
SONG OF BLOOD & STONE** | L. Penelope | 9781250148070 | Out 5/1/18
NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT** | Lillian Li | 9781250141293 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI** | Neel Patel | 9781250183194 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
SEVERANCE** | Ling Ma | 9780374261597 | Out 8/14/18 (LR: 6/20)
MINORITY LEADER: How to Lead from the Outside and Make Real Change* | Stacey Abrams | 9781250191298 | Out 4/24/18
A HIGHER LOYALTY: Truth, Lies, and Leadership* | James Comey | 9781250192455 | Out 4/17/18 readmoreremove

PLA 2018 Adult Book Buzz Titles

Here are LOTS of reading recommendations courtesy of Anne’s Adult Book Buzz at PLA 2018 last week:

THE HIGH TIDE CLUB* | Mary Kay Andrews | 9781250126061 | Out 5/8/18
SHELTER IN PLACE | Nora Roberts | 9781250161598 | Out 5/29/18
HOW HARD CAN IT BE?* | Allison Pearson | 9781250086082 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
BRING ME BACK*| B.A. Paris | 9781250151339 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
HOW TO WALK AWAY* | Katherine Center | 9781250149060 | Out 5/15/18
MY EX-LIFE* | Stephen McCauley | 9781250122438 | Out 5/8/18
THE LOST FOR WORDS BOOKSHOP** | Stephanie Butland | 9781250124531 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
THE MERE WIFE** | Maria Dahvana Headley | 9780374208431 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)
TREEBORNE** | Caleb Johnson | 9781250169082 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT** | Lillian Li | 9781250141293 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
SEVERANCE* | Ling Ma | 9780374261597 | Out 8/14/18 (LR: 6/20)
MINORITY LEADER: How to Lead from the Outside and Make Real Change* | Stacey Abrams | 9781250191298 | Out 4/24/18
A HIGHER LOYALTY: Truth, Lies, and Leadership* | James Comey | 9781250192455 | Out 4/17/18
I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions* | Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella | 9781250163059 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai** | Paul French | 9781250170583 | Out 7/3/18 (LR: 5/20)
BROKEN ICE | Matt Goldman | 9780765391315 | Out 6/12/18 (LR: 4/20)
CAGED* | Ellison Cooper | 9781250173836 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
STAY HIDDEN* | Paul Doiron | 9781250102386 | Out 7/3/18 (LR: 5/20)
OUR KIND OF CRUELTY* | Araminta Hall | 9780374228194 | Out 5/8/18
JAR OF HEARTS* | Jennifer Hillier | 9781250154194 | Out 6/12/18 (LR: 4/20)
BABY TEETH* | Zoje Stage | 9781250170750 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)
THE OTHER WOMAN* | Sandie Jones | 9781250191984 | Out 8/21/18 (LR: 6/20)
readmoreremove

PLA 2018 Booklist Book Buzz Titles

Did you see Talia CRUSH IT at this morning’s standing-room-only Booklist Book Buzz at PLA 2018?! If you were #PLALeftBehind because of Noreaster4, here are all the books she presented:

HOW TO WALK AWAY* | Katherine Center | 9781250149060 | Out 5/15/18
MY EX-LIFE* | Stephen McCauley | 9781250122438 | Out 5/8/18
RUST & STARDUST** | T. Greenwood | 9781250164193 | Out 8/7/18 (LR: 6/20)
THE LOST FOR WORDS BOOKSHOP** | Stephanie Butland | 9781250124531 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
THE ELECTRIC WOMAN: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts** | Tessa Fontaine | 9780374158378 | Out 5/1/18
AFTER ANNA* | Lisa Scottoline | 9781250099655 | Out 4/10/18
BRING ME BACK*| B.A. Paris | 9781250151339 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
HOW HARD CAN IT BE?* | Allison Pearson | 9781250086082 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
SHELTER IN PLACE | Nora Roberts | 9781250161598 | Out 5/29/18
THE HIGH TIDE CLUB* | Mary Kay Andrews | 9781250126061 | Out 5/8/18
THE MIDDLEMAN* | Olen Steinhauer | 9781250036179 | Out 8/7/18 (LR: 6/20)
THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE* | Paddy Hirsch | 9780765399137 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT** | Lillian Li | 9781250141293 | Out 6/19/18 (LR: 4/20)
TREEBORNE** | Caleb Johnson | 9781250169082 | Out 6/5/18 (LR: 4/20)
LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays* | Sloane Crosley | 9780374279844 | Out 4/3/18
MINORITY LEADER: How to Lead from the Outside and Make Real Change* | Stacey Abrams | 9781250191298 | Out 4/24/18
I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions* | Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella | 9781250163059 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
A HIGHER LOYALTY: Truth, Lies, and Leadership* | James Comey | 9781250192455 | Out 4/17/18
CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai** | Paul French | 9781250170583 | Out 7/3/18 (LR: 5/20)
BROKEN ICE | Matt Goldman | 9780765391315 | Out 6/12/18 (LR: 4/20)
CAGED* | Ellison Cooper | 9781250173836 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
A GATHERING OF SECRETS* | Linda Castillo | 9781250121318 | Out 7/10/18 (LR: 5/20)
STAY HIDDEN* | Paul Doiron | 9781250102386 | Out 7/3/18 (LR: 5/20)
THE OTHER WOMAN* | Sandie Jones | 9781250191984 | Out 8/21/18 (LR: 6/20)
OUR KIND OF CRUELTY* | Araminta Hall | 9780374228194 | Out 5/8/18
BABY TEETH* | Zoje Stage | 9781250170750 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)
JAR OF HEARTS* | Jennifer Hillier | 9781250154194 | Out 6/12/18 (LR: 4/20)
readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

Gone Girl + We Need to Talk About Kevin = BABY TEETH

We Need to Talk About Kevin meets Gone Girl meets The Omen. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETH…a twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly

Former screenwriter Stage’s “bad seed” debut novel about a mom desperate to find help for her mute young daughter whose disturbing behavior grows increasingly dangerous is one of Hello Giggles’s “Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018,” was excerpted by EW, and has THREE starred reviews!

“Deliciously creepy… The author keeps the suspense taut by alternating chapters between Hanna and Suzette, offering a terrifying glimpse into the inner thoughts of a budding sociopath.” Library Journal, starred review

“Stage’s deviously fun debut takes child-rearing anxiety to demented new heights. Stage expertly crafts this creepy, can’t-put-it-down thriller into a fearless exploration of parenting and marriage that finds the cracks in unconditional love.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Stage fuses horror with domestic suspense to paint an unflinching portrait of childhood psychopathy and maternal regret.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

And it’s keeping librarians up past their bedtime:

Read Library Journal‘s Q&A with Zoje Stage, check out the creepy book trailer, and downloadable pop culture diagram: readmoreremove

Booklist’s “Pulse Pounding Mysteries for Fall” Webinar Titles

It’s a gray and rainy day in NYC, perfect for buzzing about mysteries! Here are the titles Anne presented at Booklist‘s “Pulse Pounding Mysteries for Fall” webinar:

THE HUSH* | John Hart | 9781250012302 | Out 2/27/18 (LR: 12/20)
AFTER ANNA* | Lisa Scottoline | 9781250099655 | Out 4/10/18 (LR: 2/20)
HELLBENT | Gregg Hurwitz | 9781250119179 | Out 1/30/18 (LR: 11/20)
DARK IN DEATH | J.D. Robb | 9781250161536 | Out 1/30/18 (LR: 11/20)
THE THIRD VICTIM* | Phillip Margolin | 9781250117502 | Out 3/6/18 (LR: 1/20)
THE BISHOP’S PAWN* | Steve Berry | 9781250140227 | Out 3/20/18 (LR: 1/20)
THE MITFORD MURDERS** | Jessica Fellowes | 9781250170781 | Out 1/23/18 (LR: 11/20)
THE WOMAN IN THE WATER | Charles Finch | 9781250139467 | Out 2/20/18 (LR: 12/20)
THE ECHO KILLING** | Christi Daugherty | 9781250148841 | Out 3/13/18 (LR: 1/20)
A DANGEROUS CROSSING** | Ausma Zehanat Khan | 9781250096760 | 2/13/18 (LR: 12/20)
CRIMSON LAKE* | Candice Fox | 9780765398482 | Out 3/20/18 (LR: 1/20)
FORCE OF NATURE* | Jane Harper | 9781250105639 | Out 2/6/18 (LR: 12/20)
GRIST MILL ROAD* | Christopher J. Yates | 9781250150288 | Out 1/9/18 (LR: 11/20)
SOMETIMES I LIE* | Alice Feeney | 9781250144843 | Out 3/13/18 (LR: 1/20)
GIRL UNKNOWN** | Karen Perry | 9780805098747 | Out 2/6/18 (LR: 12/20)
THE WIFE BETWEEN US* | Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen | 9781250130921 | Out 1/9/18 (LR: 11/20)
OUR LITTLE SECRET | Roz Nay | 9781250160812 | Out 4/24/18 (LR: 2/20)
BABY TEETH* | Zoje Stage | 9781250170750 | Out 7/17/18 (LR: 5/20)

Listen to the archived webinar recording here.

Don’t forget that you can download this presentation and many others to use at your library’s next book buzz event!

readmoreremove

css.php