Articles tagged "Yangsze Choo"

Fall 2018 Tri-State Book Buzz Presents: Titles for Adults (10/12/18)

Earlier today, we presented our favorite forthcoming Adult titles during the Tri-State Book Buzz in the hallowed halls of PenguinRandomHouse. If you weren’t able to attend, here are the goods:

ANONYMOUS GIRL, AN by Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen |
AT THE WOLF’S TABLE by Rosella Postorino |
CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek |
CASSANDRA, THE by Sharma Shields |
DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA’I by Alan Brennert |
FIRST CONSPIRACY, THE: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington by Brad Meltzer |
GIRL HE USED TO KNOW, THE by Tracy Garvis Graves |
GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET, THE by Yara Zgheib |
I’M WRITING YOU FROM TEHRAN: A Granddaughter’s Search for Her Family’s Past and Their Country’s Future by Delphine Minoui |
LOST MAN, THE by Jane Harper |
MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim |
MOMENT OF LIFT, THE: How Empowering Women Changes the World by Melinda Gates |
NIGHT TIGER, THE by Yangsze Choo |
OUT OF THE DARK by Gregg Hurwitz |
SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore |
SILENT PATIENT, THE by Alex Michelades |
SOLDIER, SAILOR, FROGMAN, SPY, AIRMAN, GANGSTER, KILL OR DIE: How the Allies Won on D-Day by Giles Milton |
STAY SEXY & DON’T GET MURDERED: The Definitive How-To Guide by Karen Kilgariff + Georgia Hardstark |
STONE MOTHERS by Erin Kelly |
TERRITORY OF LIGHT, THE by Yuko Tsushima |
TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi |
VANISHING MAN, THE by Charles Finch |
WIDOWS, THE by Jess Montgomery |

You can download this presentation and many others for use at your library’s next book buzz event!

Happy #pubday + #ewgc Recs (10/2/18)

It’s Tuesday on Planet Publishing which means we’re celebrating new releases. Happy #pubday to a two-time LibraryReads author, a music legend, political freedom fighters, and a certain someone who shares her name with Kylie Jenner’s daughter!

FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS
by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers

“Told with obvious deep respect and affection, this is a spirited look at the politics and personal lives of four iconic women.”— Booklist, starred review

“You don’t need to be black or a minority to grasp the need to stand up and fight in today’s political world. The authors lay it out well in this solid primer on how to ‘dare to enter the halls of power.’” — Kirkus Reviews

THE DREAM DAUGHTER
by Diane Chamberlain

October 2018 LibraryReads pick!

THE LOVELY BONES meets THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE in Chamberlain‘s new novel about a mother who must take a mind-bending leap of faith in order to save her unborn baby girl who has a heart defect.

“Chamberlain expertly blends the time-travel elements with the wonderful story of a mother’s love and the depths of sacrifice she makes for her child. This is a page-turning crowd-pleaser.” Publishers Weekly

“Chamberlain stretches her sense of familial relationships and toe-curling suspense in new directions, weaving in elements of trust, history, and time as she explores the things we do for love. With a little tension and a lot of heart, THE DREAM DAUGHTER will delight Chamberlain’s fans and hook new readers.” Booklist

THE FLAME: Poems Notebooks Lyrics Drawings
by Leonard Cohen

If you felt Leonard Cohen’s death in 2016 as a personal assault, this book is a posthumous balm: a collection of previously unpublished poems, lyrics, and sketches. All of Cohen’s work has a raw, straight-to-the-heart intensity—reach for this the next time you need inspiration for a wedding toast that will leave them gutted, or any other moment you need a little sustenance for the soul.

“Poignant and brave, lit up with flashes of anger, this is a luminous collection and classic Cohen.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE NIGHT TIGER

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee, is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo: THE NIGHT TIGER.

In this utterly transporting story set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, an apprentice dressmaker named Ji Lin moonlights as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. Across town, 11-year-old houseboy Ren races to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: find the man’s severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick by, a series of unexplained deaths wreak havoc on the town, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren are pulled together in ways they couldn’t have imagined, as their increasingly dangerous paths lead them from lush plantations, to hospital storage rooms, to a ghostly dreamscape.

THE NIGHT TIGER is many things: a fine example of historical fiction, a work of magical realism, a ghost story, a mystery, a romance, a coming-of-age tale. Each of these is impressive, but most impressive is Choo’s ability to weave them all together in a way that feels authentic, and to use that intricate process to tell a story of colonialism and self-determination, love and death, family and tradition.” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Yangsze Choo on Shelf-Awareness.com. And enter to win an ARC! readmoreremove

css.php