Articles tagged "YA"

Spring 2019 YA Romance Roundup

Valentine’s Day might be over, but it’s always a good day for a little romance! Check out these sweet & steamy YA / NA romances coming from Wednesday Books and Flatiron Books this spring!
And keep an eye out for the green download button! If you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) on Edelweiss for our e-galleys, you can follow these directions to get the process started!

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza
Available March 12, 2019 from Flatiron Books
Marlowe just wants her life to go back to normal after having a heart transplant, but her mother is a self-proclaimed vegan warrior and now Marlowe is falling for the hot butcher’s apprentice next door. Marlowe’s “normal” might be a little more complicated than she bargained for…
“Funny and direct, this book by Plozza is capable of balancing heartbreak, first love, mortality, and the absurd.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn
Available April 2, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Annie Mathers is America’s country music sweetheart. Clay Coolidge is a superstar and a troublemaker. The two find themselves playing a summer tour together where they must discover: Can the right song and the perfect summer on the road make two broken hearts whole?
“[The] romance is well-plotted and sweetly drawn: Readers (particularly those listening to the recent A Star is Born soundtrack on repeat) will delight in the story’s rhythm and musical backdrop . . . a good ol’ fashioned love story.”
Kirkus Reviews

THIS IS NOT A LOVE SCENE by S.C. Megale
Available May 7, 2019 from Wednesday Books
A funny and irreverent #ownvoices YA romance about eighteen-year-old Maeve who has muscular dystrophy and who is also an average teen girl trying to figure out high school and first love with the hot guy starring in her senior film project.

readmoreremove

January YA Sweepstakes

We’ve made it to the end of January and we want to share all of our January YA releases with TWO lucky librarians!

To enter, head to our Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) and find the below photo. (You can also click on the photo below to be taken directly there.) Once you’re there, you’ll fin all of the information on how to enter!

Titles included in the sweepstakes:
THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA (Young Readers’ Edition) by Melissa Fleming
WHITE STAG by Kara Barbieri
IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais

readmoreremove

Teen Talk (1/24/2019 Edition)

Hello, YA librarians!

Sorry we missed #ewgcya today… We’re in Seattle drinking all the coffee and making sure our booth is ready for all of our librarian friends attending Midwinter this week! We hope you had a great chat! Here’s our new YA from the past two months — let us know what you’ve been reading & loving lately!

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
9781250144546
Ages 12 to 18

Paris, 1889: In this city, no one keeps tabs on secrets better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier, Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. But when the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, seeks him out for help, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance. To find the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin will need help from a band of experts. Together, they’ll have to use their wits and knowledge to hunt the artifact through the dark and glittering heart of Paris.

“Chokshi shines as a master storyteller.” —Booklist, starred review

“An opulent heist adventure that will leave readers voracious for more.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A delectably intriguing adventure for all teen shelves.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“Evocative writing, sumptuous set pieces, and vividly sketched, authentically flawed characters distinguish this immersive tale of found family and star-crossed romance.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA (Young Readers’ Edition) by Melissa Fleming
9781250311429
Ages 10 to 17

A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA chronicles the life of Doaa Al-Zamel, a Syrian girl whose life was upended in 2011 by the onset of her country’s brutal civil war. When Doaa’s boat to Europe is struck and begins to sink, Doaa stays afloat on a small inflatable ring and clutches two little girls—barely toddlers—to her body. She must stay alive for them. She must not lose hope.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – TIN HEART

Happy Friday, YA librarians!

My latest pick is chock-full of heart, wit, & just the right amount of absurdity.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza
9781250312761
Ages 12 to 18
Available March 12, 2019 from Flatiron Books

After seventeen-year-old Marlowe undergoes a life-saving heart transplant, all she wants to do is start living a normal life and thank her donor’s family. But her life was never normal and her donor’s family has no interest in hearing from her. After Marlowe’s letters of gratitude are rejected, she takes on a fake name and befriends Carmen, whom she believes is her donor’s sister. On top of all of that, Marlowe, the daughter of a self-proclaimed Vegan warrior, is falling for the butcher’s son! (#SCANDAL) Could her life get any more complicated? Probably.

readmoreremove

Our 2019 YALSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for ALA / YALSA’s various reading lists this year!

2019 Best Fiction for Young Adults
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
SADIE by Courtney Summers
MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud
SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young
FRANKIE by Shivaun Plozza

See the full 2019 BFYA list here

2019 Amelia Bloomer Project Book List (best feminist books)
SADIE by Courtney Summers

See the full 2019 Amelia Bloomer list here

2019 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questions content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)
HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson

See the full 2019 Rainbow Book List here

2019 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
SADIE by Courtney Summers (in the top 10!)

See the full 2019 Quick Picks list here

2019 Great Graphic Novels for Teens
THE STRANGE by Jérôme Ruillier

See the full 2019 GGNT list here

2019 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults
SADIE by Courtney Summers (in the top 10!)
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert

See the full 2019 Amazing Audiobooks list here

readmoreremove

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

Winter 2019 Flatiron YA Sampler

Start your year with a sneak peek of two 2019 titles from Flatiron Books YA!

Available for download on Edelweiss, this sampler features excerpts from the following upcoming YA titles from Flatiron Books YA:

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease (available February 5, 2019)
This lush and imaginative debut fantasy is about an impoverished girl who must use magic to impersonate an aristocrat in Versailles to provide for her sister as her own political awakening forces her to choose sides in the French Revolution.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza (available March 12, 2019)
When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants to do is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer The Dying Girl. But her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn . . .

readmoreremove

Two stars for TIN HEART!

Shivaun Plozza’s charming and romantic second novel, TIN HEART, has received two starred reviews!

“Funny and direct, this book by Plozza is capable of balancing heartbreak, first love, mortality, and the absurd—or, as Marlowe puts it, “that moment when you’re standing in front of Bert’s Quality Butchers holding a speaker blasting ‘Meat Is Murder.’”” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Without didacticism, the text offers a glimpse into two sets of rare challenges: those faced by Marlowe, grappling with the fact that her life was restored by another’s death, and those faced by Carmen and her father, still grieving over 16-year-old Luis, whose organs were donated after a car accident. Readers will cheer for Marlowe’s bildungsroman—simultaneously unique and universal.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – CARRY ON

Happy New Year, YA pals!

My first post of 2019 celebrates a YA classic…

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
9781250049551
Ages 13 to 18
Available in
hardcover, trade paperback, e-book, and audio (basically any format you want)

If you’ve read FANGIRL, you know all about Simon and Baz, the main characters in Cath’s fan-fiction. In CARRY ON, YA Queen Rainbow Rowell gives Simon and Baz an entire novel of magic, intrigue, and LOTS of moody staring.

Simon is entering his final year at Watford School of Magicks. But, let’s briefly recap his previous six: Simon is deemed The Chosen One and is forced to defeat the Insidious Humdrum—a villian that is nearly identical to an 11-year-old version of himself. Yikes!

readmoreremove

#LibFaves18 = Your Favorite Books of 2018

This week, librarians everywhere were tweeting their favorite 2018 reads via the hashtag #libfaves18. Here are the Macmillan titles that received the most library love!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 

readmoreremove

css.php