Articles tagged "YA mystery"

Fall 2019 Children’s / YA Tri-State Book Buzz (10/17/19)

Earlier today, we presented our favorite new YAs from Flatiron and Wednesday Books during the Tri-State Children’s / YA Book Buzz. If you weren’t able to attend, here are the goods:

WHERE THE WORLD ENDS | Geraldine McCaughrean
December 3, 2019
9781250225498
YA Fiction / Historical / Europe
Ages 12 to 18

THE NIGHT COUNTRY | Melissa Albert
January 7, 2020
9781250246073
YA Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Ages 12 to 18

JANE ANONYMOUS | Laurie Faria Stolarz
January 7, 2020
9781250303707
YA Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Ages 13 to 18

readmoreremove

Books for Teens 2020: Something Old, Something New

Welcome to 2020, the year of retellings!

From Macbeth to You’ve Got Mail and everywhere in between, we’ve got retellings galore! And that’s not all! Check out all of our 2020 books for teens below for your fill of adventure, revenge, and romance.

Follow us on Twitter (@MacmillanLib) for all book-related news, on Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) for pretty pictures of books, and read Emily’s candid “Day’s YA” reviews of upcoming and backlist YA titles.

Winter 2020:

THE NIGHT COUNTRY: A Hazel Wood Novel by Melissa Albert
9781250246073
Available January 7, 2020 from Flatiron Books
Ages 13 to 18

The highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling tour de force THE HAZEL WOOD! In THE NIGHT COUNTRY, Alice Proserpine dives back into a menacing, mesmerizing world of dark fairy tales and hidden doors.

JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz
9781250303707
Available January 7, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

Jane was held captive in a room with only a bed, a refrigerator, and an adjoining bathroom for seven months. Now she’s back home and the only thing that makes her feel better is writing about her experience. But will uncovering the truth of what happened break her forever?

“A story about lingering trauma, loss, and the journey toward healing, this gripping crime novel could be a documentary from the Investigation Discovery channel. A must-read.” —School Library Journal

“Stolarz ups the psychological ante . . . the depth of psychological intrigue is absorbing, and the twist on Stockholm syndrome, disturbing . . . this novel is a testament to how the mind can reshape reality in order to survive.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord
9781250237323
Available January 21, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Day’s YA review
From debut author Emma Lord comes a re-imagining of You’ve Got Mail in this heartfelt and hilarious celebration of snarky tweets, first kisses, and an epic social-media battle between straight-A student Pepper and her biggest annoyance, Jack.

“Lord accurately depicts various sides of today’s online culture. Amid all the digital hoopla is an engaging story about family loyalty and pursuing one’s own passions . . . A just-right combination of sweet and cheesy.” —Kirkus Reviews

DIAMOND CITY by Francesca Flores
9781250220448
Available January 28, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Is courage born or is it bred? In this action-packed young adult fantasy, a teen assassin must overcome poverty, violence, and loss because “good things don’t happen to girls who come from nothing . . . unless they risk everything.”

“Full of action sequences that will compel readers to keep turning pages, this book is ideal for those who enjoy fast-paced stories.” —School Library Journal

“An entertaining and action-driven tale of assassins and magic.”
Kirkus Reviews

CRACKED UP TO BE by Courtney Summers
9781250256973
Available February 4, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

The award-winning debut that started it all—now with a gorgeously updated cover (that happens to coordinate perfectly with SADIE) and a new foreword from the New York Times bestselling author herself!

FOUL IS FAIR by Hannah Capin
9781250239549
Available February 18, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 14 to 18

FOUL IS FAIR is a bloody, thrilling, fantasy retelling of Macbeth in which four girls seek revenge on the boys who have wronged them. Golden boys beware: something wicked this way comes.

THE DYSASTERS: The Graphic Novel: Volume 1 by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
9781250268778
Available February 25, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

In their first graphic novel adaptation, #1 New York Times bestsellers P.C. and Kristin Cast bring us the world of THE DYSASTERS—genetically manipulated teenagers must control their abilities as they learn of their past, how they came to be, who’s following them, and what tomorrow will bring.

ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED by Sophie Gonzales
9781250315892
Available March 3, 2020 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets Clueless in this boy-meets-boy spin on Grease. Ollie and Will were meant to only be a summer fling, but when they end up attending the same school, will their fling become something more?

ANNA K.: A Love Story by Jenny Lee
9781250236432
Available March 3, 2020 from Flatiron Books YA
Ages 14 to 18

A deliciously inventive re-imagining of Leo Tolstoy’s timeless love story, ANNA KARENINA​, set in the elite enclaves of Manhattan and Greenwich—perfect for fans of CRAZY RICH ASIANS and Gossip Girl.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza will be available in trade paperback on March 20, 2020.

readmoreremove

Teen Talk (September 2019 Edition)

Hi, YA pals!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles from this month, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (#ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK by Adrienne Young
9781250168481
Ages 12-18

The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of SKY IN THE DEEP.
For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols inked on her skin mark her as one who can see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse.

“Halvard and Tova’s world is described as brutal and beautiful—their personal struggles with identity, fate, and community shine against the minimalistic plot and slowly building tension.” —Kirkus Reviews

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: 13 of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined ed. by Dahlia Adler
9781250302779
Ages 12-18

Edgar Allan Poe may be a hundred and fifty years beyond this world, but the themes of his beloved works have much in common with modern young adult fiction. Whether the stories are familiar to readers or discovered for the first time, readers will revel in Edgar Allan Poe’s classic tales, and how they’ve been brought to life in thirteen unique and unforgettable ways. Contributors include Tiffany D. Jackson, Caleb Roehrig, Kendare Blake, Stephanie Kuehn, and many more.

readmoreremove

Kirkus’s 30 Most Anticipated YA Books for Fall

Check out Kirkus‘s most anticipated YA for Fall, featuring three titles from Wednesday Books and Flatiron Books YA!

HIS HIDEOUS HEART: Thirteen of Edgar Allan Poe’s Most Unsettling Tales Reimagined by Dahlia Adler

A haunting collection of Edgar Allan Poe’s stories, retold by some of your favorite contemporary YA authors.

Poe’s ghost happily haunts this fresh, delightfully dark collection.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A refreshing assortment of diverse voices and contemporary themes ensures there’s something for everyone in this delightful compilation.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett

Girls are banished for their sixteenth year to release their magic into the wild and return home purified and ready for marriage, but not all of them will make it home alive.

“[Liggett’s] immersive storytelling effortlessly weaves horror elements with a harrowing and surprising survival story.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Booklist’s Fall YA Announcements 2019 Webinar

Did you miss out on Booklist‘s Fall YA Announcements webinar? Fear not! Here are all of the titles we mentioned, and the archived webinar will be available here.

HIS HIDEOUS HEART edited by Dahlia Adler

WHERE THE WORLD ENDS by Geraldine McCaughrean

THE NIGHT COUNTRY by Melissa Albert

ANNA K.: A Love Story by Jenny Lee

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK by Adrienne Young

WAYWARD SON by Rainbow Rowell

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett

JANE ANONYMOUS by Laurie Faria Stolarz

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord

DIAMOND CITY by Francesca Flores

FOUL IS FAIR by Hannah Capin

THE SILVERED SERPENTS by Roshani Chokshi

THE RAGE OF STORMS by P.C. Cast

THE DYSASTERS: Volume 1 by P.C. Cast + Kristin Cast

Day’s YA – HIS HIDEOUS HEART

Got the mid-summer reading doldrums? EXCELLENT. Allow me to introduce you to thirteen dark and creepy tales guaranteed to pull you out of that funk…

HIS HIDEOUS HEART ed. by Dahlia Adler
9781250302779
Available September 10, 2019 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

HIS HIDEOUS HEART is a collection of Edgar Allen Poe’s eeriest tales, reimagined by your favorite Young Adult authors, including Tiffany D. Jackson, Caleb Roehrig, Rin Chupeco, Kendare Blake, and Tessa Gratton, among others.

My favorite stories are…

Tiffany D. Jackson’s “It’s Carnival!” (“The Cask of Amontillado”), in which Cindy seeks revenge on Darrell (after enduring years of harassment) during Brooklyn’s West Indian Day Carnival.

Lamar Giles’ “The Oval Filter” (“The Oval Portrait”) is the unsettling story of Tariq’s dead ex-girlfriend who is haunting his phone while also leading him to her killer.

amanda lovelace’s “The Raven (Remix)” is an enchanting blackout poetry version of Poe’s THE RAVEN, in which large portions of the original text are blacked out to reveal lovelace’s poem underneath.

Stephanie Kuehn’s “Happy Days, Sweetheart” (“The Tell-Tale Heart”), my favorite, is the brutal story of a girl who would do anything to be the best . . . but will her guilt be her downfall?

readmoreremove

SADIE wins an Edgar!

We’re over the moon! Mystery Writers of America announced their Edgar Awards last night and SADIE by Courtney Summers is the 2019 winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult!

The Edgar Awards honor the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television.

readmoreremove

May YA E-Book Sale for Libraries

Expand your Young Adult collection with our YA e-Book sale!

Running May 1 through May 15, six YA e-Books will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms):

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin
IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner
SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young
SADIE by Courtney Summers
WHITE STAG by Kara Barbieri

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

SLJ’s YA / Teen Book Buzz Webcast (4/23/19)

We hope you tuned in to today’s School Library Journal YA / Teen Book Buzz Webcast, but if you missed it, here are the title list and slides.

The archived webinar is available here.

See something you like? Request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss!

And don’t forget to follow us on Instagram and Twitter and check out Emily’s candid reviews over on Day’s YA!

readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: SLJ YA / Teen Webcast

Get ahead of the curve and discover the latest and greatest hot reads during SLJ’s 2019 Teen Book Buzz webcast! We’ll be presenting some of our favorite upcoming YA titles from Wednesday Books and Flatiron Books YA on April 23, 2019 at 2:00 pm EST. You won’t want to miss it!

Click here to register for the webcast!

css.php