Articles tagged "works in translation"

LJ Genre Spotlight: SF/Fantasy

Library Journal‘s genre spotlight on SF/Fantasy has so much Macmillan goodness, it’s out of this world!

A MULTIPLICITY OF CHARACTERS

September marks the publication of James Tiptree Jr. Literary Award–winning short story writer Nisi Shawl’s highly anticipated first novel, EVERFAIR, a steampunk alternate history set in the Belgian Congo. “It’s as diverse in about as many ways as you can count. The author is a queer black woman, and several of [her] characters are queer (and often women and/or nonwhite as well),” explains Tor Books editor Liz Gorinsky. “The [other] characters represent a multiplicity of voices that have been historically silenced—Africans, East Asians, and African Americans—as well as a few Europeans, in complex relationships with one another.”

WORKS IN TRANSLATION

Increasingly, publishers’ fall lists are featuring speculative fiction in translation, and awards committees have taken note. In 2015, Cixin Liu’s THE THREE-BODY PROBLEM became the first translated sf novel to win a Hugo Award and wound up on the reading lists of President Barack Obama and Mark Zuckerberg. Arriving in September from Tor is DEATH’S END, the highly anticipated conclusion to Liu’s “Remembrance of Earth’s Past” trilogy.

“I have somehow fallen into the Chinese [sf] publishing business, and I couldn’t be happier,” exclaims Tor’s Gorinsky. “This fall we actually have two books translated by Ken Liu (who’s an amazing author in his own right—the only one to ever win Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards for the same story).” The second title is INVISIBLE PLANETS, an anthology of Chinese short stories; it includes two tales by Cixin Liu and the rest by rising talents, including the Hugo- and Sturgeon Award–nominated “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang. Coming in October is Mariko Koike’s THE GRAVEYARD APARTMENT; known for her hybrid works that mix detective fiction with horror, the author is one of Japan’s most popular writers. Originally published in 1986, this novel follows a young family as they move into what they believe is the perfect home—despite the cemetery next door.

DRAWN FROM OTHER LANDS

Pseudonymous author Lian Hearn, who has lived in Japan and is a student of the Japanese language, explores that country’s medieval history and mythology in her four-volume “Tale of Shikanoko” series. In the third outing, LORD OF THE DARKWOOD, the warrior Shikanoko must confront the Spider Tribe that he had some part in creating.

Authors are also incorporating some unusual urban settings in the natural world for their epics. Australian Thoraiya Dyer’s series opener, CROSSROADS OF CANOPY, due from Tor in January, introduces a city set in the canopy of a rainforest ruled by gods. Unar, the young servant of the goddess Audblayin, must descend to the deprived realms of Understorey and Floor to seek her destiny. Fran Wilde introduced readers to her towering city of living bone and its flying inhabitants in her award-winning debut UPDRAFT, but more trouble brews for residents in CLOUDBOUND. readmoreremove

2014 PEN Award Nominees

The 2014 PEN Awards longlist was recently announced and we're pleased to have several nominated titles:

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize
A HISTORY OF THE PRESENT ILLNESS by Louise Aronson

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay
FORTY-ONE FALSE STARTS: Essays on Artists and Writers by Janet Malcolm
THE KRAUS PROJECT by Jonathan Franzen

PEN/E.O.Wilson Literary Science Writing Award
FRANKENSTEIN'S CAT by Emily Anthes 

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography
HOLDING ON UPSIDE DOWN: The Life and Work of Marianne Moore by Linda Leavell
AMERICAN MIRROR: The Life and Art of Norman Rockwell by Deborah Solomon
ROTH UNBOUND: A Writer and His Books by Claudia Roth Pierpont 

PEN ESPN Award for Literary Sportswriting
MONSTERS: The 1985 Chicago Bears and the Wild Heart of Football by Rich Cohen 

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation
IMPROMPTUS: Selected Poems and Some Prose by Gottfried Benn, translated by Michael Hofmann 

The shortlisted titles will be announced on June 17 and the winners will be announced on July 30 and honored at the PEN Literary Awards Ceremony on September 29 at The New School.

For more information and to see the full longlist, click here.

Congratulations to the nominees! 

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday bonus: DECODED

HOT TITLE ALERT! We want to make sure this gripping debut novel is on your radar: DECODED by multi-award-winning author Mai Jia. 

One of China's bestselling novels, it reveals the mysterious world of Unit 701, a top-secret Chinese intelligence agency whose sole purpose is counterespionage and code breaking. Brilliantly combining the mystery and tension of a spy thriller with the psychological nuance of an intimate character study and the magical qualities of a Chinese fable, DECODED discovers in cryptography the key to the human heart.

The New York Times jumped on DECODED early and ran an interview with Jia on their Sinosphere Blog and reviews have been outstanding:

“Told by a shadowy narrator who draws on interview transcripts and declassified documents, the book ranges in style from mythic fairy tale to spy story to epistemological speculation. Within this fantastic framework unfolds the saga of Rong Jinzhen, a youngster of illegitimate origin and odd upbringing whose phenomenal success in his non-chosen field leads to international counterespionage.” The Wall Street Journal 

Finally, a great Chinese novel. It stands out among Chinese novels for its pace, liveliness and the sheer novelty of the tale it tells. It grips from the first page… [Jia] offers a beguiling and magical mystery tour of China. It is an absolute joy to read. The Economist 

“An espionage novelist who navigates the top-secret world of cryptography, Mai has been hailed as China’s Dan Brown. DECODED quite blithely—and deliberately—defies the genre expectations.” — The New Republic 

“Readers skate the line separating insanity from genius in Mai Jia’s riveting tale of cryptographic warfare. A denouement at once heartbreaking and thought-provoking leaves readers pondering the collective sanity of a world shrouding knowledge in enigmas. Gifted translators bring English-speaking readers a Chinese literary treasure.” — Booklist, starred review

“Mai’s careful attention to pacing and the folklore-inspired narration make for a fascinating story, neatly interwoven with complex mathematical theory.”
Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (2/11/14 Edition)

Hip hip hooray, it's time for another #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

QUESADILLAS by Juan Pablo Villalobos
Mexican novelist Villalobos's darkly comic story about a poor Mexican family in which two teenage brothers set off to find their missing twin siblings–who were potentially abducted by aliens–is "a riotous tall tale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and "frequently laugh-out-loud funny." (Shelf Awareness)

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review

ACT ONE by Moss Hart
Moss Hart’s ACT ONE is not only one of the most celebrated American theater books of the twentieth century, according to legendary actress Julie Andrews it's also “The ultimate Broadway memoir by the master who raised the bar for us all.” The book is coming out just in time for Lincoln Centre Theatre's stage adaptation of “Act One,” written by Tony and Pulitzer-Prize Winning writer/director James Lapine. 

readmoreremove

css.php