Articles tagged "women’s fiction"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Happy #PubDay (9/10/19)

Snarky necromancers + the rise of the nobodies + romantic pirate adventures + Bengali folklore + debut horror… welcome to our #PubDay celebration!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

A Library Journal Best Debut of Fall 2019 + September Indie Next pick + FOUR starred reviews!

“This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review

“An addictive, genre-bending book that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Readers will discuss this journey for a long time and be clamoring for the next installment.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer

“Palmer takes the Gen X vs. millennials story to another level in this fun novel.”–Library Journal

AT DEATH’S DOOR: A Deadman’s Cross Novel by Sherrilyn Kenyon

“The final romantic historical fantasy in Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross trilogy is an over-the-top adventure.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN = August LibraryReads Picks!

You voted, they counted, and THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN are officially LibraryReads picks for August 2019!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tear-jerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A PW Best Book of Summer 2019 + 2 starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Sneak Peek: August 2019 Indie Next List

Congrats to Macmillan’s August 2019 Indie Next Listers!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE ESCAPE ROOM by Megan Goldin

A July 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

“This novel is pure entertainment… cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you’ll be caught in your own escape room–the only key to freedom is turning the last page!”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

For Your Consideration: September 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite September 2019 titles for the September 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due August 1!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A moving, sad, and sometimes disarmingly funny take on migration and the forces that propel us into the world.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Thrilling action, madcap humor, and a larger-than-life cast energize this cleverly plotted take on a traditional mystery. Barr surprises and entertains from start to finish.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Stars and Stars and Stars, Oh My!

Our #WeekendReads are all about these multi-star-earning books!

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh

2019 CWA Dagger Award Longlist-er + a Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer!

A knockout legal thriller with a doozy of a twist.”–Booklist, starred review

“This tightly plotted page-turner delivers as both a legal thriller and serial killer investigation.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for WHISPER NETWORK!

Chandler Baker’s #MeToo whodunit WHISPER NETWORK has received THREE starred reviews!

“Attorney Baker’s debut is a thriller, a murder mystery, and an anthem for any woman who has ever hit a glass ceiling, been the brunt of sexual innuendo, or felt harassed in the workplace. Smart, articulate, and witty, it will resonate with a huge audience. Highly recommended.“–Library Journal, starred review

“In the midst of a police investigation and meetings involving suits and countersuits, Baker works in succinct statements about the quandaries of modern women… These truths serve to bolster the plot, not distract from it, and the result is a compulsively readable mystery with a strong message. Don’t miss it.“–Booklist, starred review

“It’s a breezy page-turner of a book, which is the brilliance of it: Under the froth is an unmistakable layer of justified rage. Over-the-top in all the right ways.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with a “WHISPER NETWORK” subject line to request a NetGalley download widget.

For Your Consideration: August 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August 2019 titles for the August 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CITY OF WINDOWS by Robert Pobi

“The FBI brings in astrophysicist, amputee, and former agent Dr. Lucas Page when a sniper takes aim in the middle of a New York blizzard… Relentless pacing, tight plotting, and a brainy, idiosyncratic new hero make this one a winner.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

You Know Her, You Love Her: Mary Kay Andrews

Mary Kay Andrews has been providing the perfect beach read for more than 20 books now, and that doesn’t stop with her latest–and May LibraryReads pickSUNSET BEACH.

Drue Campbell’s life and career have recently been derailed. The only thing she has left is the house her mother left her: a ramshackle beach bungalow with a missing roof in the once-sleepy town of Sunset Beach, which is rapidly becoming a hot spot for the rich and well-heeled, who are none too pleased about the shabby eyesore in their perfect neighborhood.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove
css.php