Articles tagged "witches"

Thriller Thursday (5/10/18 Edition)

A LibraryReads pick, a cozy, and a sniper thriller are our #ThrillerThursday reads:

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall
Also available in audio
A May 2018 LibraryReads pick! Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

CHARMED BONES by Carolyn Haines
In Haines’s “enchanting”* 18th Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, three sisters want to open a Wiccan school in Zinnia, MS, on a manor house rented from local artist Trevor Musgrove. When Trevor dies under suspicious circumstances, the sisters become suspects, and Sarah really gets involved. “Fans of humorous paranormal cozies will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly

REAPER: GHOST TARGET by Nicholas Irving & A.J. Tata
Also available in audio
The explosive new thriller series written by the New York Times bestselling author of THE REAPER and star of Fox’s AMERICAN GRIT. “This debut of a new black-ops series boasts two coauthors who know the field. Irving’s stature in the black-ops world will ensnare readers who follow Brad Taylor and Vince Flynn.” — Booklist

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Tor.com Fall 2016 Season

TordotcomF16Return to Lychford, explore new love with Kai Ashante Wilson, and explore what it means to be human in the second year of Tor.com Publishing!

HAMMERS ON BONE by Cassandra Khaw
On Sale: October 11
John Persons is a private investigator with a distasteful job from an unlikely client. Can he can take down an abusive stepdad without releasing the holds on his own horrifying potential?

EVERYTHING BELONGS TO THE FUTURE by Laurie Penny
On Sale: October 18
What happens when the rich, but only the rich, get an extra century of life?

A TASTE OF HONEY by Kai Ashante Wilson
On Sale: October 25
A new heart-rending romance from the author of THE SORCERER OF THE WILDEEPS.

THE LOST CHILD OF LYCHFORD by Paul Cornell
On Sale: November 1
Our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet!

COLD-FORGED FLAME by Marie Brennan
On Sale: September 13
Setting off on an unexplained quest from which she is compelled to complete, and facing unnatural challenges in a land that doesn’t seem to exist, a mysterious woman will discover the secrets of herself, or die trying. readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Oct15LRcollage+WYSDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the October 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

DEATH WEARS A MASK by Ashley Weaver
Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo, first introduced in MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL (An October 2014 LibraryReads pick), take on a murder at a masked ball in this Christie-esque traditional mystery set in 1930s England.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

HOME IS BURNING by Dan Marshall
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz Panel selection, an ALA Annual Read ‘n Rave selection, and a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick! Dave Eggers meets David Sedaris in this uproariously funny, unflinchingly honest, and tender memoir from Marshall, who as a recent college graduate, had to return home to help care for his ailing parents. “…funny, heartbreaking, and unapologetically crude. A poignantly provocative memoir.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

THE CLASP by Sloane Crosley
“Crosley’s smart, sardonic, sometimes-zany, yet also sensitive story is told from the alternating perspectives of these three linked characters, taking the readers along as they reunite first for a friend’s wedding in Miami and then again for a road trip in France, setting off from Paris in pursuit of, yes, a priceless necklace but also of things far more valuable: the truth about themselves and one another, a genuine sense of purpose, and, perhaps most precious of all, a connection to one another.
…a real gem.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

CORRUPTED by Lisa Scottoline
Bennie Rosato revisits her past when she represents Jason Leftavick, a former client she’s couldn’t free from juvenile detention after he finally stood up to a class bully. Now Jason’s an adult, accused of murdering the very same bully who first got him in hot water. “Both the juvenile case and the murder case are compelling on their own, but the combination and the glimpse into Bennie’s younger self make this a wonderful addition to an always-strong series. Scottoline is an A-lister all the way, and her Rosato series is always an A-plus in terms of reader interest.”
Booklist, starred review

To request a copy, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject line “Corrupted” and your mailing address.* readmoreremove

css.php