Articles tagged "#WeekendReads"

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER

A young woman confronts ancient forces in the depths of the bayou in Andy Davidson’s gorgeous, moody, horrifying novel, THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER.

Miranda Crabtree has spent a quiet life ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm. But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

A great combination of Gothic horror, fantastic world-building, and thrilling pacing, Davidson’s unique voice will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Justin Cronin, and Jeff VanderMeer. The author’s debut was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, so we’re very excited for him to join our list!

Download an e-galley of THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: THE SECRET GUESTS

Benjamin Black, pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville, shares a little-known secret of World War II in his forthcoming historical fiction, THE SECRET GUESTS.

Ahead of the German Blitz during World War II, English parents from every social class sent their children to the countryside for safety, and in THE SECRET GUESTS, the British royal family takes this evacuation a step further, secretly moving the princesses Elizabeth and Margaret to a Duke’s estate in Ireland, accompanied by a female English secret agent and a young Irish detective. There, suspicions, tension, and passions arise. Fun fact, the author has good information that the princesses were indeed in Ireland for a time during the Blitz, though this has never been confirmed by the royal family.

Dive into a novel as tender as the homesickness of the sisters, as intriguing as Irish-English relations during WWII, and as suspenseful and ultimately action-packed as war itself.

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “THE SECRET GUESTS” to request a download widget.

Forthcoming #FridayReads: IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS

Tasha Alexander continues her historical Lady Emily Mystery series with IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS.

Lady Emily and her husband Colin are in Italy when they discover a body hidden in plain sight amongst the ruins of Pompeii. Surrounded by archaeologists with secrets of their own, introduced to a shocking character from Colin’s past, and faced with someone who wants her off the case–for good–Lady Emily will find out how far below the surface can she dig before she risks burying herself along with the truth.

Praise for UNEASY LIES THE CROWN:

“Engrossing… English history lovers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

“Readers are in the author’s trustworthy hands, and the working out of the puzzle will delight mystery and history buffs alike.” —Booklist

Download the IN THE SHADOW OF VESUVIUS e-galley from Edelweiss here.

css.php