Articles tagged "WE THE SURVIVORS"

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Three Stars for WE, THE SURVIVORS!

Man Booker Prize longlister Tash Aw’s
WE, THE SURVIVORS
an uncompromising portrait of an outsider navigating a society in transition–just received its third starred review!

“Aw’s potent work entraps readers in the slow, fateful descent of its main character, witnessing his life spiral to its inevitable conclusion.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Aw savagely erases any doubt that only the fittest survive in the ruthless world of global capitalism.”–Booklist, starred review

“A raw depiction of one man’s troubled life and the web of social forces that worked to shape it.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Read an excerpt here!

css.php