Articles tagged "WAKING THE SPIRIT"

Happy #BookBday (8/2/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

THE CHOSEN ONES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
THREE starred reviews! One of Europe’s most revered novelists recounts a terrible, forgotten incident in Nazi-era Vienna. “Gorgeous prose and stark imagery, along with Sem-Sandberg’s penchant for the absurd and surreal, provide an unsettling and vivid glimpse into one of the darkest chapters of human history. Recommended for fans of the author and Jonathan Littell’s THE KINDLY ONES.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR by Jesse Donaldson
A novel of love, drugs, and crime set in America’s heartland that’s perfect for fans of Tom Franklin and Daniel Woodrell. “Forget genre labels. This is a stunning novel, period.” — Booklist, starred review

A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTER by Yvonne Georgina Puig
A St. Louis Post summer reading pick! A juicy, sprawling comedy of manners about a group of thirtysomethings navigating friendship, love, and their fledgling careers among Houston’s high-powered, oil-money elite. “Filled with keen social commentary, this debut novel is an inspired reimagining of Edith Wharton’s THE HOUSE OF MIRTH. More than a century later, the theme still echoes that in women’s relationships, there is too high a cost to not staying true to oneself.”
Library Journal
readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Music Books

music booksRock out with these books about music:

UPROOT: Travels in 21st-Century Music and Digital Culture by Jace Clayton
The writer and artist DJ/rupture guides this world tour of music and technology in an age of radical freedom and interconnectivity. “In this exhilarating book, Clayton, aka DJ Rupture, guides readers on an international tour of various forms of music and music-making technologies within many cultures. Clayton urges readers to embrace the power of music, recognizing its energetic and enduring capacity to capture and express shared emotions and to become a ‘memory palace with room for everybody inside.’” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVER A DULL MOMENT: 1971 The Year That Rock Exploded by David Hepworth
A rollicking look at 1971—the busiest, most innovative and resonant year of the 70s, defined by the musical arrival of such stars as David Bowie, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and Joni Mitchell. “An exuberant tour through a pivotal year in the development of popular music and culture.” — Kirkus Reviews

SCREAMIN’ JAY HAWKINS’ ALL-TIME GREATEST HITS by Mark Binelli
Rolling Stone writer Binelli turns his sharp, forceful prose to fiction, in an inventive retelling of the outrageous life of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, a bluesman with one hit and a string of inflammatory guises. “This dreamlike album of real and imagined scenes from a complex artist’s memory bank is as flamboyant a display of light and shadow as one of Hawkins’ stage shows.” — Kirkus Reviews

A STRAY CAT STRUTS: My Life as a Rockabilly Rebel by Slim Jim Phantom
The first-ever memoir by a member of the Stray Cats, featuring stories of a rock ‘n roll life, friendships with icons like George Harrison and Keith Richards, and marriage to Britt Ekland. “An entertaining pop music memoir for fans of drummers, Eighties music, and/or rockabilly.” — Library Journal

EVERY SONG EVER: Twenty Ways to Listen in an Age of Musical Plenty by Ben Ratliff
Veteran New York Times music critic Ratliff reimagines the very idea of music appreciation for our times. “A remarkable new book… [Ratliff] goes leaping from Beethoven to Big Black, from Morton Feldman to Curtis Mayfield, identifying continuities while delighting in contrasts.” — The New Yorker

WAKING THE SPIRIT: A Musician’s Journey Healing Body, Mind, and Soul by Andrew Schulman
“A professional guitarist whose venues have ranged from Carnegie Hall to the Improv Comedy Club, Schulman was pulled back from death in July 2009 by a medical miracle and decided it was give-back time. He’s now the resident musician in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit at New York’s Mount Sinai Beth Israel hospital in New York, where he brings music—and hence joy and healing—to critically ill patients.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

PRINCE: Inside the Music and the Masks by Ronin Ro
A fascinating, authoritative biography, with a new introduction and chapter covering the past five years and Prince’s death.

THE SPEED OF SOUND: Breaking the Barriers Between Music and Technology: A Memoir by Thomas Dolby
A remarkable memoir from Thomas Dolby, who rose to international fame with such hit songs as “She Blinded Me with Science” and “Hyperactive!” in the early 80’s and found a second act as a tech pioneer. readmoreremove

PLA Booklist Book Buzz Titles

Talia is about to tell you about her favorite Macmillan titles at this morning’s Booklist Book Buzz in a few minutes, but we didn’t want the #plaleftbehind to be left out. Here are Talia’s top picks:

INHERIT THE BONES by Emily Littlejohn
THE HOMEPLACE by Kevin Wolf
BADLANDS by C.J. Box
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders
AN UNRESTORED WOMAN by Shobha Rao
THE CHARM BRACELET by Viola Shipman
CITY OF THORNS by Ben Rawlence
ROSALIE LIGHTNING by Tom Hart
FALLEN LAND by Taylor Brown
THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
THE HEART by Maylis de Kerangal
TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart
THE CHILDREN by Ann Leary
IN THE COUNTRY WE LOVE by Diane Guerrero
ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS by Bryn Greenwood
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
THE TRUE TAILS OF BAKER & TAYLOR by Jan Louch & Lisa Rogak
COLLECTING THE DEAD by Spencer Kope
CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong
MURDER AT THE 42ND STREET LIBRARY by Con Lehane
THE HOUR OF LAND by Terry Tempest Williams
THIS IS NOT MY BEAUTIFUL LIFE by Victoria Fedden
WAKING THE SPIRIT by Andrew Schulman
WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
PARADIME by Alan Glynn
THE PRISONER OF HELL GATE by Dana I. Wolff
THE SPORT OF KINGS by C.E. Morgan
HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows
YOU KNOW ME WELL by Nina LaCour & David Levithan

Download the book buzz handout, complete with information about getting whitelisted for Macmillan e-galleys and participating in LibraryReads!
css.php